The Judd KTM British Youth Championship got off to a soggy – and ultimately curtailed – start at Little Silver near Exeter on Saturday. A large amount of rain and access problems to the venue meant it was eventually considered too unsafe to continue and the meeting was called off following the first day of racing.
While most groups got two motos in on the first day, the Auto class got just the one – and on a shortened circuit. Casey Lister took the lead at the start of the race but Judd Orange Brigade’s Riley-Ray Barrow moved into the lead on lap one as chaos ensued behind them with Cohen Jagielski and William Evans both slipping backwards down the running order after running near the front.
On lap three TS Racing/VIP Motocross’ Lister made a move back to the front where he’d stay until the end with Barrow finishing a strong second and Charlie Crampton having a strong ride through the pack to secure third. Brian Gyles made it all the way up to fourth from a 22nd place start but long journeys are his speciality…
With the Autos only managing the one race, that result stands as the overall for the round and also the championship standings after round one.
65cc class rookie Jayden Jones absolutely dominated his class taking a pair of wins aboard his SJP Moto Husqvarna. A consistent pair of thirds for Riley Ingram saw him take the second step of the podium while Sonny Rooney took third overall with a 2-4 scorecard that saw him tie on points with Ingram but miss out on the better second race tiebreaker. Drew Stock just missed out on a top-three ranking, as his 5-2 finishes saw him fall two points short of the leading trio.

Jayden Jones
Jayden Jones

The Small Wheel 85 class was all about SJP Moto Husqvarna’s Billy Askew who ran a solid 1-1 to take the overall and an early championship lead. Billy won race one by almost a minute although runner-up Ashton Boughen was much closer second time out.
Ashton Boughen
Ashton Boughen

Boughen’s 2-2 put him second overall while a similar run of consistency put Joey Benfield in third with a 3-3 scorecard. 2019 65cc champion Reece Jones took a fantastic fourth with a pair of fourth-place finishes in his class debut.
Charlie Heyman
Charlie Heyman

The Big Wheel 85 class was the Charlie Heyman show as he racked up another double win for the SJP Moto Husqvarna team. GRT Holeshot KTM’s Ollie Colmer eventually overcame Kiean Boughen in their battle for second overall as each rider took a second and a third behind the flying Heyman. Colmer’s second came in the second moto so he took second overall with Boughen third albeit tied on points.
Cheddar MX’s Jake Smith took a phenomenal fourth with a 4-6 run of finishes to just outscore Passion Racing’s George Hopkins who finished fifth with a 7-4 scorecard.
The MXY2 class is split into 125 and Open divisions for 2020 with reigning 125 BYC champ Preston Williams taking outright – as well as 125-class honours – in moto one with a dominant display on his Judd Orange Brigade KTM. Jude Morris ended up second on his 125cc FXR Europe Husqvarna with Jack Lindsay the first of the Open class riders in third ahead of classmate Cullen Scott.

Race two was all about Scott though as he won the moto by around four seconds ahead of Williams who had a 10-second buffer over Morris in third.
By class, Scott took Open overall honours on his Team Green Kawasaki as Tom Murphy snatched second with a 3-2 scorecard as race one supremo Lindsay slipped back to sixth second time out to clinch third overall on the Apico Husqvarna.
Williams ended the day on maximum points in the 125 class with a 1-1 scorecard ahead of double runner-up Jude Morris and JOB team-mate Louie Kessell. Just missing out on the top three was class rookie Charlie Palmer who ran 4-4 after moving up from the BW85 division over the winter.
With round one in the history books, there’s a lengthy wait for more on-track action due to the Coronavirus outbreak. As things stand – and things are changing by the day – the MXY2 series will resume at Foxhill on May 3 while the other BYC classes will have to wait until their second round which is at Rhayader on May 16/17. Let’s hope we don’t have to wait any longer as the on-track action at round one was stunning…

Little Silver Results – 2020 Judd KTM British Youth Championship


  1. Casey Lister 45
  2. Riley-Ray Barrow 42
  3. Charlie Crampton 40
  4. Brian Gyles 38
  5. Caiden Brand 36
  6. Arthur Moore 35
  7. Ethan Gawley 34
  8. Harry Dale 33
  9. Kasey Crampton 32
  10. Aaron Todd 311


  1. Jayden Jones 90
  2. Riley Ingram 80
  3. Sonny Rooney 80
  4. Drew Stock 78
  5. Alfie Geddes-Green 71
  6. Robbie Daly 69
  7. Liam Bell 68
  8. Zane Stephens 66
  9. Hayden Statt 63
  10. Blake Ward-Clarke 62

Small Wheel 85cc

  1. Billy Askew 90
  2. Ashton Boughen 84
  3. Joey Benfield 80
  4. Reece Jones 76
  5. Gus Mustoe 70
  6. Ryan Waggott 68
  7. Harlow Green 67
  8. Charlie Richmond 65
  9. William Murphy 63
  10. Phillip Tchorek 59

Big Wheel 85cc

  1. Charlie Heyman 90
  2. Ollie Colmer 82
  3. Kiean Boughen 82
  4. Jake Smith 73
  5. George Hopkins 72
  6. Joel Fisher 67
  7. Ben Mustoe 66
  8. Tyla Hooley 63
  9. James Barker 61
  10. Henry Life 61


  1. Preston Williams 90
  2. Jude Morris 84
  3. Louie Kessell 80
  4. Charlie Palmer 76
  5. Tomos Wright 69
  6. Joe Brookes 67
  7. Sam Atkinson 66
  8. Buster Hart 65
  9. Domonic Newbury 63
  10. William Farrow 57


  1. Cullen Scott 87
  2. Tom Murphy 82
  3. Jack Lindsay 80
  4. Aaron Patstone 71
  5. Tyler Westcott 71
  6. Mark Bracegirdle 70
  7. Shiaru Honda 70
  8. James Smith 70
  9. Charlie Kent 66
  10. Tomas Hardcastle 65

[more-from heading=”Latest News” category=”news”]