HRC Honda’s Jett Lawrence claimed 250SX Championship victory in Foxborough last night, with two rounds left of the Championship to go.

When the riders lined up for round eight of the Eastern Regional 250SX Class’ penultimate round, Jett Lawrence was in position to wrap up the title by finishing ahead of Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s RJ Hampshire.

When the gate dropped Phoenix Racing Honda’s Cullin Park jumped out into the lead and held it for over a lap before Troy Lee Designs Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing’s Pierce Brown took over the top spot. Lawrence had rounded the first turn mid-pack and was several positions behind Hampshire. Brown stretched out his early lead as Hampshire moved forward from fifth place; Lawrence battled with Forkner as they sliced forward through the pack further back.


With under four minutes left on the race clock, Hampshire clipped Brown’s rear wheel while closing in on the lead and Hampshire went down. Forkner and Lawrence were quickly past; both riders then reached and passed Brown in the closing laps. The win was an emotional one for Forkner, his first since 2020, and the title was more so an emotional accomplishment for 18-year-old Australian Jett Lawrence, who takes the championship in his third year racing Supercross in the United States. Lawrence earned the number one plate through consistency as well as speed. The popular racer finished every 2022 race on the podium, including four wins.   

250SX Main event top ten

1 33 Austin Forkner Richards, MO Kawasaki KX250 10 7 3 1 26
2 18 Jett Lawrence Zephyrhills, FL Honda CRF250R 3 8 0 2 23
3 44 Pierce Brown Sandy, UT GASGAS MC 250F 1 2 14 3 21
4 54 Mitchell Oldenburg Aledo, TX Honda CRF250R 8 10 0 4 19
5 11 Kyle Chisholm Valrico, FL Yamaha YZ250F 2 6 0 5 18
6 24 Rj Hampshire Minneola, FL Husqvarna FC 250 19 5 0 6 17
7 80 Enzo Lopes Indian Trail, NC Yamaha YZ250F 7 11 0 7 16
8 38 Joshua Varize Perris, CA Husqvarna FC 250 12 4 0 8 15
9 140 Cullin Park Clermont, FL Honda CRF250R 9 X 1 1 9 14
10 81 Jace Owen Mattoon, IL Yamaha YZ250F 4 12 0 10 13