A dominant AMA Supercross and motocross champion nicknamed “The GOAT” (The Greatest Of All Time), a pair of riders who helped raise tens of millions of dollars in search of the cause of and cure for pediatric brain tumors, and a founder of one of the aftermarket’s most recognizable brands are among the motorcyclists who are on the 2013 ballot for possible elevation to the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame.

Multi-time AMA champion Ricky Carmichael, the Ride for Kids’ Mike and Dianne Traynor, and K&N co-founder Norm McDonald are among the nominees on the 2013 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame ballot that includes racers, designers, tuners, and ambassadors for motorcycling in consideration of elevation to motorcycling’s highest honor.

“Very few people start their careers in this industry or sport expecting to end up in the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame, however the very best always rise to the top, as we see again this year,” said Jeffrey V. Heininger, chairman of the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation, which oversees the Hall of Fame. “The AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame truly encompasses the standout riders and racers, especially those driven to excel beyond mere greatness. What’s particularly impressive this year is the breadth of that drive across all types of motorcycling represented on the ballot, from racing, to business, to rights, to engine design and more. These 2013 nominees epitomize the essence of the American Motorcyclist Association.”


The complete list of 2013 nominees is noted (alphabetically) immediately below, with brief bios of each nominee following:

  • Motorcycle rights activist Mark Buckner
  • AMA Supercross and motocross racer Ricky Carmichael
  • Indian tuner and flat-tracker Richard Gross
  • Indian Powerplus designer and engineer Charles Gustafson Sr.
  • AMA champion and Baja racer Danny Hamel
  • Flat-track racer Tommy Hays
  • Hillclimber Joseph Hemmis Sr.
  • Desert racer Jack Johnson
  • Land speed racer Bob Leppan
  • K&N co-founder Norm McDonald
  • AMA champion roadracer Randy Renfrow
  • Champion dragracer Joe Smith
  • Motor Maid Gloria Tramontin Struck
  • Ride For Kids and Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation co-founders Mike and Dianne Traynor
  • AMA Government Relations pioneer F. Eugene “Gene” Wirwahn

The 2013 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Nominating Ballot is the culmination of a comprehensive review of the procedures and makeup of the Hall of Fame nominating processes and committees. The revisions are designed to institutionalize the integrity of the nominating process, from application through induction into the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame.

Potential AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famers are considered in eight categories, each focusing on a specific area: Ambassadors & Industry, Design & Engineering, Dirt Track, Leadership & Motorcycle Rights, Motocross & Supercross, Off-Road, Roadracing and Specialty Competition.

With the ballot now set, the official voting begins. Votes for the Hall of Fame class of 2013 will be cast by: all living Hall of Fame members; members of the AMA and AMHF Boards of Directors; and members of and advisors to the Category Committees. The current total number of eligible voters is more than 250.

Voting will open June 18 and will close on July 7. Ballots were mailed Monday to voters. The members of the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Class of 2013 will be announced shortly after the conclusion of voting in early July.

The class of 2013 will be officially inducted on Friday, Oct. 18, during the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Legends Weekend in a star-studded gala at Las Vegas’ Green Valley Resort & Casino, with tickets available to the general public. Also featured at the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are two “Hall of Fame Legends” — existing members of the Hall of Fame whose lifetime accomplishments are highlighted. The 2013 Legends are: Mark Blackwell, a pioneering racer in American motocross, a six-time AMA championship race team manager and a well-respected executive in the motorcycle industry; and Torsten Hallman, a four-time World Motocross Champion who was instrumental in introducing the sport of motocross to America and founded the Thor brand.

Also part of the weekend’s activities is the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Legends Reception on Saturday, Oct. 19, where the class of 2013, the 2013 Legends and AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famers from previous years will be honored and interviewed on-stage in a relaxed setting that allows fans and friends to get up close and personal with motorcycling’s heroes.