With his third MXGP world title already secured, Tim Gajser (Team HRC) signed off with a victory in race two of the MXGP of Pietramurata to claim the overall at the penultimate round of the 2020 FIM Motocross World Championship.
With the 30-minute plus two lap moto red-flagged after Jeremy van Horebeek (Honda SR Motoblouz) got hooked up in Gajser’s machine, the Slovenian holeshot from the restart and led every lap.
“I’m super-happy,” said Gajser. “The racing was nice today. In the first moto I was struggling because I didn’t have a clutch from the second lap which was difficult on this type of track but I managed to finish second. In the second race I had a good start and I’m happy with the win.”
Jeremy Seewer (Monster Energy Yamaha) was an initial second before Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Kawasaki) passed him on lap two and from there the race order was pretty much decided with Clement Desalle (Monster Energy Kawasaki) fourth ahead of Tony Cairoli (Red Bull KTM), Brian Bogers (Marchetti KTM) and Gautier Paulin (Monster Energy Yamaha).
Febvre threatened to take the lead in the closing stages – which would have handed Seewer the overall – but couldn’t quite get close enough to show Gajser a front wheel and at the flag he came home almost three seconds behind.
Seewer’s third-placed finish means heading into this weekend’s final round – the MXGP of Garda Trentino – he trails Cairoli by just four points.
Dylan Walsh (JM Honda Racing) ran inside the top-10 in the early stages before fading out of the points but Adam Sterry (Hitachi KTM fuelled by Milwaukee) was a solid 13th for 11th overall and Evgeny Bobryshev (PAR Homes RFX Husqvarna) was 15th in race two for 17th on the day.