Throughout the season fans have the opportunity to cast their votes race-by-race and decide who becomes the ‘Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena’ in MXGP at the end of this year’s championship.

Votes are tallied at every Grand Prix, with the ‘Best Rider of the GP’ being chosen during each event of 2022. The rider who is voted the most times as the best rider, will walk away with the ultimate prize and be presented with the special award for ‘Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena’!

How to vote:


Every Grand Prix Sunday a dedicated post is shared on MXGP’s official Instagram page under which fans can comment who their favourite rider of the weekend is. This competition is only for MXGP riders and the voting closes at 8pm on Sunday.

The comments are then counted and the rider with the most votes is chosen as the best rider of that GP. 

During the MXGP of Latvia for the sixth round of the FIM Motocross World Championship, the overall Grand Prix winner Tim Gajser of Team HRC was voted as the best rider of the Grand Prix, with the double race winner receiving 43% of the votes while Pauls Jonass of Standing Construct Husqvarna Factory Racing was closely behind in second with 36%!

Tim Gajser continues to head the Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena competition after six rounds, with five points over Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing’s Jorge Prado who has one. But the competition is still wide open for the ultimate prize with many races still to go!

2022 Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena Standings

Tim Gajser5
Jorge Prado1