Round two of the Judd KTM British Youth National Championship and Steve Benton Transport British Under 21 Championship was held at Culham, Oxfordshire last weekend (May 12/13) where Archie Britton, Ashton Boughen, Bailey Johnston, Alfie Jones, Drew Anderson, Aaron-Lee Hanson and James Carpenter took the overall victories in their respective classes.

In the Auto class there were some close battles throughout the pack, especially with the front-runners, where we saw Archie Britton take the overall honours with Joel Winstanley-Dawson second, and Hayden Statt taking a podium third. Rounding out the top six was Robbie Daly, Alfie Geddes-Green and Jake Webb.

In the Junior 65cc class there was no stopping Ashton Boughen, who walked away with all four moto wins after some impressive riding that saw him dominate the weekend. Kalvin Kelly and McKenzie Marshall took second and third on the podium, with Billy Askew, Shaun Mahoney and Harvey Antrobus completing the top six.


In the Small Wheel 85cc class we saw some outstanding battles, especially between Bailey Johnston and Wal Beaney. Johnston took the overall win, with Beaney earning the runner-up spot. Ollie Colmer ended the weekend in third, with Finley Evans, Ben Mustoe and Ross Simpson clinching the remaining top six podium finishes.

In the Big Wheel 85cc class there it was a weekend of tremendous competition and a number of changes throughout the races in the top running positions. Finishing the weekend off with the first-place trophy was Alfie Jones, followed by Ryan Mawhinney and Jack Grayshon in third. Fourth to sixth positions were awarded to Sam Atkinson, Ethan Lane and 2017 ACU British Youth National Small Wheel 85cc Champion Vinnie Guthrie.

The 125cc class gave further spectacular racing and close battles for all to see throughout the event with some breath-taking moments. Celebrating the overall victory with three out of four race wins was Drew Anderson, who has had a promising start to the 2018 Championship and has certainly made his mark this weekend. Ike Carter clinched second overall with Ryan Allison in third. Rounding out the top six in the class was Preston Williams, Aaron Colley and Kyle McNicol.

In the Open Class Aaron-Lee Hanson had an outstanding weekend with three out of four moto wins to walk away with the overall for the weekend, and despite having an issue in the final moto, he took plenty of important points for his championship lead. Harry Kimber had a strong weekend to finish up in second position and George Simmutch was third. Fourth to sixth positions for round two was awarded to Josh Greedy, Callum Gordan and Ben Clayton.

The Steve Benton Transport British Under 21 Class provided spectators with some superb racing action to enjoy. Going into the final moto it was close throughout the top runners with wildcard rider James Carpenter celebrating the overall victory, whilst current red plate holder Rossi Beard took second and last year’s ACU British Open Champion Howard Wainwright clinched third. Finishing the weekend in fourth was David Galvin, with Charlie Cole and James Mackrel in fifth and sixth.

For round two of each championship the Scott Sports MotoKing Holeshot awards were presented to Joel Winstanley-Dawson, Ashton Boughen, Bailey Johnston, Jack Grayshon, Drew Anderson, Aaron-Lee Hanson and Oliver Benton.

Next stop for the Judd KTM British Youth National Championship and Steve Benton Transport British Under 21 Championship is Fraddon, Newquay on June 9 and 10.