Culham Moto Park made a welcome return to the Maxxis ACU British Motocross Championship, supported by Pro Clean, as a strong turnout braved early showers and were rewarded with British motocross at its very best on an old-school track superbly prepped by RHL Activities.

Elliott Banks-Browne, on his new Geartec Husqvarna, impressed in MX1 qualifying and carried his speed over into moto one with a fourth-place finish. But it all went wrong for the two-time MX2 champion in the second race. He had nightmare start – hitting the start gate and then a mechanical problem left EBB with a DNF.


After being heavily tipped for the win at the opening round, the pressure was on for MXGP pilot Jake Nicholls, but he never let it show. The Hitachi KTM UK rider put himself within striking distance of the early leaders in moto one – taking his time to wind them in for his first moto win of 2017.

Nicholls was on Robert Davidson’s back wheel in the opening corners of moto two and quickly made his move before bringing home the win with an 11 seconds gap over Brad Anderson for a 1-1 and maximum championship points.


Nicholls teammate Ben Watson put down his own marker during MX2 qualifying, with a time two seconds quicker than his nearest rival.

Watson carried his domination over into moto one with a commanding wire-to-wire win.

His start in moto two wasn’t perfection but was good enough to keep him in touch with the front runners.

The 19-year-old Brit kept his head in the tough conditions and deep ruts of the Oxfordshire sand circuit, reeling in the lead and like his teammate, brought home two moto wins to secure first blood in the MX2 title race.

Likeable Fin Harri Kullas must be a bit of masochist taking on four motos in the gnarly conditions, in fact, the MVR-D Husqvarna squad must be a little crazy – in a good way – but the team and Kullas appear to be a perfect match.

And although Kullas couldn’t get himself into the top 10 overall in MX1, his MX2 class motos, which are his priority, went well with a 2-8 for a second overall.

The Finlander had the biggest smile on the podium and looked like he could go again!

After finishing qualifying in 12th, Brad Todd probably didn’t expect to find himself with his first ever MX2 podium, but two very solid fifth places were enough to give the Putoline Husqvarna / Planet Suspension pilot third overall.


Kawasaki riders Lewis Hall and Keenan Hird impressed in both motos but they saved the best for the last moto of the day with Hird pushing Hall all the way to the chequers, and the Team Green UK / Monster Energy Kawasaki rider crossed the finish line just 0.7 seconds ahead of Hird.

Halls’ second moto victory was enough to secure the overall and MXY2 red plate.

Jake Edey looked to be favourite for the overall win after taking pole and winning the opening moto by 11 seconds from Hall, but his second moto didn’t go to plan.

The Gear4 Motorcycles/M Tech Tuning / KTM rider looked to avoid getting filled in as he chased down the lead in the opening lap, but pushing hard cost him with an off and with it went the overall win.

The Maxxis ACU British Motocross Championship now makes its way to Norfolk for round two at Lyng on Sunday, April 9.

2017 Maxxis ACU British Motocross Championship overall results

MX1 Overall

  1. Jake Nicholls
  2. Graeme Irwin
  3. Steven Lenoir
  4. Brad Anderson
  5. Robert Davidson
  6. Ashley Wilde
  7. Kristian Whatley
  8. Jamie Law
  9. Gert Krestinov
  10. James Harrison

MX2 Overall

  1. Ben Watson
  2. Harri Kullas
  3. Brad Todd
  4. Martin Barr
  5. Mel Pocock
  6. Jake Millward
  7. Lewis Tombs
  8. Josh Gilbert
  9. Todd Kellett
  10. Jordan Divall


  1. Lewis Hall
  2. Keenan Hird
  3. Jake Edey
  4. Tom Grimshaw
  5. Howard Wainwright
  6. Joe Cadwallader
  7. Dylan Stynes
  8. Ben Clark
  9. Charlie Cole
  10. Billy King