With the Motocross season in full swing, plans are already in place for this year’s Motocross of Nations selection process.

After a recent discussion with Team Great Britain’s Team Manager Neil Prince, the ACU has announced a long list of riders from which the 2014 MXoN team will be selected.

We’re told the final three will be chosen from, Tommy Searle, Shaun Simpson, Jake Nicholls, Max Anstie, Mel Pocock, Elliott Banks-Browne, Kristian Whatley, Dean Wilson, Brad Anderson, Ben Watson, Nathan Watson, Adam Sterry and Steven Clarke. Basically if you’ve got an ACU licence you’re on the ‘short list’.


Team Manager Prince will need a sledgehammer to shorten the list following a few more GPs and British Championship events; after looking at each rider’s current fitness and performances.

In his third year as Team Manager, Prince, who has a vast amount of GP knowledge (which forms the basis of the event) will use his experience in Team selection for the sandy circuit at Kegums in Latvia at the end of September.

ACU Motocross Chairman Brian Higgins commented, “The ACU are in agreement with the initial squad which Neil is working from. We have given him the job of being Team Manager so naturally it will be Neil’s sole choice as to the final three, taking into account many factors.

“Team GB have come so close to a podium finish in recent years, I am sure that very soon this will come, maybe this year.”

A further Press Release will be issued with the squad is reduced to around five names which will probably be in early August.