Under glorious blue skies round one of the Maximum Group sponsored winter series kicked off at the Wilden MXC Kidderminster venue last Sunday.

In the combined 65s and small wheel 85s Josh Greedy and Jack Wankling tore strips off each other up at the sharp end. With one win and a second apiece the result was settled in the days final encounter when Greedy fired up the afterburners on lap one – Greedy then going on to grab a conclusive win. Aaron Colley improved day long recording 4-3-2 and he took section bronze. Robbie Scott with a clean sweep and beating off the thrusting challenge of Harrison McCann won the Junior 65s.

Eleven year old Charlie Kent riding with the Big Wheel 85cc group nailed all three hole shots, but despite a valiant effort he had to settle for fourth overall. In a class of his own Tyrone Cleaver soon hit the front in all three motos – Cleaver then swiftly and efficiently checking out with three impressive heat wins. Suzuki mounted Jordan Wright chased hard putting clear ground between him and those behind, and three seconds was his reward. Third overall with a day full of thirds went to Jamie Osbourne.


With the Rookies and Open two-stroke racers all lumped in together Henry Williams (Rookie) and Jack Waterman (2t Open) bashed plastic for their respective bragging rights. Both guys came from the back in heat one to claim a win each, and both went on to dominate their respective classes – but each time in the head to head Williams was the classy master. Ryan Deacon with 3-2-2 secured Rookie second as Fraser Martin with 2-3-3 took third. The runners up spot in the smoker class went to Tom Johnson as he beat off the up and down challenge of Callum Sloman.

In the adult Inters making it all look far too easy local speedster Jordan Pyne made off with all three heat wins. Alex Harvey in heats one and two hassled Pyne best, but with Harvey having a race three nightmare his previous brace of seconds was trumped by Ryan Carey (4-3-2) as he stepped up for section silver.

Adult Experts Ashley Cotterell, Jordan Broadway and Luke Houghton all claimed one race win each, and the section proved to be the days most unpredictable. Houghton was fired up for sure but bang out of luck as Cotterell backed up best taking home the money with a further 2-2. Second overall with 2-4-1 went to Broadway as David Blackburn (3-5-3) finished in a solid third overall.

The penultimate round of the Dirt Divas Championship had both under-16 and over-16 racers on track together. With a whitewash apiece Kathryn Booth and Nadiya Joyner ruled respectively. Bar-to-bar Joyner triumphed twice but the overall performance of 12-year-old Booth suggested she will go far in Ladies MX.

In the 65cc Novice races Brandon Owen was a popular and worthy winner as he secured his maiden overall victory with heat wins third and fourth time out. Also with two wins Oliver Kilgaur made second overall. Others starring over on the small track were Ruby Gale winning three times in Auto Novice division as McKenzie Marshall aced all with all four heat wins in the Auto Experts.

Experts 1 Ashley Cotterell, 2 Jordan Broadway, 3 David Blackburn, 4 Joe Delbusso, 5 Rhys Cook, 6 Gareth Artus.
Adult Inters 1 Jordan Pyne, 2 Ryan Carey, 3 Alex Harvey, 4 Max May, 5 Adam Lichfield, 6 Jack Vincent.
Two Stroke Open 1 Jack Waterman, 2 Tom Johnson, 3 Callum Sloman, 4 Emerson Jones, 5 Fraser Gardner, 6 Thomas Nedmore.
Rookies 1 Henry Williams, 2 Ryan Deacon, 3 Fraser Martin, 4 Matt Lomas, 5 Joe Roberts, 6 Piers Kirkpatrick Jones.
Jun 65cc 1 Robbie Scott, 2 Harrison McCann, 3 Trystan Williams, 4 Alfie Gates, 5 Richie Turns, 6 Harry Jump.
SW85cc 1 Josh Greedy, 2 Jack Wankling, 3 Aarron Colley, 4 Archie Hicks, 5 Dylan Woodall, 6 Lewis Pyne.
BW 85cc 1 Tyrone Cleaver, 2 Jordan Wright, 3 Jamie Osbourne, 4 Charlie Kent, 5 Adam Hill, 6 Michael Watson.
Ladies Over 16 1 Nadiya Joyner, 2 Kate Corns.
Ladies Under 16 1 Kathryn Booth, 2 Silje Otte, 3 Katie Booth, 4 Mae Cartwright.
65cc Novice 1 Brandon Owen, 2 Oliver Kilgaur, 3 Joshua Fletcher, 4 Tommy Gilbert, 5 Jamie Siviter, 6 Billy Elvin.
Auto Novice 1 Ruby Gale, 2 Jayden Wright, 3 Lauren Arnold, 4 Taylor Woodall, 5 Reece Leverton, 6 Lewis Garland.
Auto Expert 1 McKenzie Marshall, 2 Keelan Hope, 3 Archie Burton, 4 Rio Jones.