GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac captured his second Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race of the season at Ford Field in front of 46,141 fans. GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle raced to his first Eastern Regional 250SX Class win of the season, leading all 15 laps of the Main Event.

BTO Sports/KTM”s Andrew Short started the 450SX Class Main Event by winning the Holeshot Award. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Davi Millsaps and Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey fought for the number-two position. On the opening Lap Dungey would move into the lead before being challenged by Tomac.

On Lap 1, Tomac moved into second place and set his sights on Dungey. Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely made his way around Millsaps on Lap 3 to take over third place.


Tomac took over the lead on Lap 4 and by Lap 12 established a 6.6 second lead. Tomac won by a margin of 11.89 seconds over Dungey, who finished second, and Seely, who finished third. Dungey now has 11 podium finishes on the season and Seely has three.

“I have had so many up-and-down races this year, but I was able to put it together tonight,” said Tomac. Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard, who is second in season standings, suffered a crash in qualifying and did not race in the Main Event. Dungey has a 67-point lead over Canard.

“I got a good start tonight,” said Dungey. “He [Tomac] made a pass to get by me, and it was a solid pass. He is a good, clean racer.” Bogle jumped out to the early lead with the Holeshot Award and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy pulled up on his rear wheel. Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Anthony Rodriguez settled into the number-three position.

Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Martin Davalos and GEICO Honda’s RJ Hampshire collided on Lap 2, sending Davalos off the track. Hampshire remounted near last place and Davalos withdrew from the race.

On Lap 3, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, who came into tonight’s race with four wins, rebounded from a bad start to take over the number three spot from Rodriguez. Musquin made a move around Savatgy for second place on Lap 7, but Savatgy answered back. Eventually Musquin took over the position and began to pull away.

“The bike is a rocket ship, and it got me off to a great start,” said Bogle. “We have to take every weekend with the same approach. It’s going to be tough with two races left on the Eastern Regional 250SX Class schedule, but I am going to keep my head down.”

Musquin finished second for the second time in the season and Savatgy finished third for the second time this season.

“Once again, the start was key, and I didn’t get the start I needed,” said Musquin. “Second place isn’t bad and I have the points lead still.”

Both Musquin and Bogle have been on the podium at every race this season. With the win, Bogle cut into Musquin’s points lead and now trails by 13 points.

Racing continues next Saturday night at St. Louis’ Edward Jones Dome.

450SX Class Results: Detroit
1.     Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
2.     Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
3.     Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda
4.     Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
5.     Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
6.     Josh Grant, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki
7.     Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki
8.     Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki
9.     Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
10.  Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
450SX Class Season Standings
1.     Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 271
2.     Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda, 204
3.     Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 194
4.     Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda, 180
5.     Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 170
6.     Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki, 156
7.     Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 154
8.     Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna, 145
9.     Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 136
10.  Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 134
Eastern Regional 250SX Class Results: Detroit
1.     Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda
2.     Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM
3.     Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki
4.     Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha
5.     Anthony Rodriquez, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha
6.     Colt Nichols, Muskogee, Okla., Honda
7.     Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Honda
8.     Mitchell Oldenburg, Alvord, Texas, Yamaha
9.     James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda
10.  Jace Owen, Mattoon, Ill., Honda
Eastern Regional 250SX Class Season Standings
1.     Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM, 144
2.     Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 131
3.     Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 103
4.     Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki, 93
5.     RJ Hampshire, Hudson, Fla., Honda, 84
6.     James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 69
7.     Anthony Rodriguez, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 68
8.     Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda, 65
9.     Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Husqvarna, 63
10.  Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda, 58
Western Regional 250SX Class Season Standings
1.     Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha, 136
2.     Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., KTM, 106
3.     Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 104
4.     Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Husqvarna, 102
5.     Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM, 86
6.     Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha, 81
7.     Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM, 79
8.     Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki, 79
9.     Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 75
10.  Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda, 69