Eli Tomac rode a Kawasaki to victory Saturday night in the Daytona Supercross at Daytona International Speedway, becoming the fifth rider to win the prestigious Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship event three times.

Tomac, from Cortez, Colorado, joined Bob “Hurricane” Hannah, Mike Kiedrowski, Jeremy McGrath and Chad Reed as a three-time champion. Riding the #3 Monster Energy Kawasaki and wearing a helmet bearing the likeness of Daytona stock car legend Dale Earnhardt, Tomac assumed the lead on Lap 5 of the 18-lap 450SX main event en route to a dominating ride. Second-place Cooper Webb (KTM) – the leader in the series’ point standings – finished 6.889 seconds behind Tomac.

“The last half [of the race] was effortless,” Tomac said. “I just got the flow and that’s so important at this track. It just started coming to me.


“[Title] number three … this is so cool at Daytona.”

Riders in the Monster Energy AMA Supercross were back at DIS for Round 10 of the 2019 season, on a challenging course designed by five-time Daytona Supercross champion Ricky Carmichael.

Chad Reed (#22 Joe Gibbs Racing Suzuki) was thwarted in his own attempt at making history, as he finished 10th in the main event. Reed was trying to become the third four-time Daytona Supercross champion; Jeff Stanton and Ryan Villopoto are the others on that short list.

DeLand, Florida native Justin Starling, riding a Husqvarna, qualified for the 450SX main event. He finished 19th.

Austin Forkner of Richards, Missouri won the 250SX Main Event aboard the #24 Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki. Forkner started the evening with a strong run in winning the first 250SX heat. He ended with his fourth main event win of the year – and a commanding lead in the 250SX East championship standings.

“It was tough,” Forkner said about the main event. “Just not making mistakes was one of the biggest things – I honestly didn’t feel like I was going super fast. Just every rhythm, every jump, every lap was just perfect – that was the key tonight, I feel.”

Both the 450SX and 250SX classes had two heat races that advanced the top-nine finishers to the 22-rider main events. The 450SX heats were won by Tomac and Blake Baggett (KTM); Forkner and Justin Cooper (Yamaha) won the 250SX heats.

There was also action-filled “Last Chance Qualifier” races – five minutes plus one lap – that awarded main-event berths to the top-four finishers among riders not previously locked into the main. The 450SX “LCQ” went to Scott Champion (Yamaha); Lorenzo Locurcio (Kawasaki) of nearby Groveland, Florida won the 250SX LCQ.

450SX Class Results

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, CO, Kawasaki
  2. Cooper Webb, Newport, NC, KTM
  3. Marvin Musquin, Corona, CA, KTM
  4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, CA, KTM
  5. Joey Savatgy, Tallahassee, FL, Kawasaki
  6. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, VA, Husqvarna
  7. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, OR, Suzuki
  8. Ken Roczen, Clermont, FL , Honda
  9. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, NC, Honda
  10. Chad Reed, Dade City, FL, Suzuki
  11. Dean Wilson, Clermont, FL, Husqvarna
  12. Shane Mcelrath, Canton, NC , KTM
  13. Cole Seely, Sherman Oaks, CA , Honda
  14. Justin Bogle, Cushing, OK, KTM
  15. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, FL, Suzuki
  16. Tyler Bowers, Lake Elsinore, CA, Kawasaki
  17. Chris Blose, Phoenix, AZ , Husqvarna
  18. Ben Lamay, Anchorage, AK, Honda
  19. Justin Starling, Deland, FL, Husqvarna
  20. Mike Alessi, Hilliard, FL, Honda
  21. Scott Champion, Orange, CA , Yamaha
  22. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, OH , Yamaha

450SX Class Championship Standings

  1. Cooper Webb (222)
  2. Eli Tomac (203)
  3. Marvin Musquin (203)
  4. Ken Roczen (201)
  5. Blake Baggett (161)
  6. Dean Wilson (149)
  7. Chad Reed (137)
  8. Justin Brayton ( 127)
  9. Joey Savatgy (124)
  10. Aaron Plessinger (123)
  11. Justin Barcia (120)
  12. Cole Seely (117)
  13. Justin Bogle (88)
  14. Justin Hill (87)
  15. Tyler Bowers (69)
  16. Vince Friese (65)
  17. Kyle Chisholm (57)
  18. Ben Lamay (52)
  19. Jason Anderson (46)
  20. AleX Ray (33)

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Results

  1. Austin Forkner, Richards, MO, Kawasaki
  2. Chase Sexton, Clermont, FL, Honda
  3. Justin Cooper, Huntington, NY, Yamaha
  4. Mitchell Oldenburg, Godley, TX, Yamaha
  5. Alex Martin, Clermont, FL, Suzuki
  6. Brandon Hartranft, Brick, NJ, Yamaha
  7. Kyle Peters, Greensboro, NC, Suzuki
  8. Joshua Osby, Valparaiso, IN, Yamaha
  9. Kyle Cunningham, Willow Park, TX, Honda
  10. Martin Davalos, Tallahassee, FL, Kawasaki
  11. Jordan Bailey, Orlando, FL, Husqvarna
  12. John Short, Pilot Point, TX, Honda
  13. Lorenzo Locurcio, Groveland, FL, Kawasaki
  14. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, KY, KTM
  15. Thomas Covington, Murrieta, CA, Husqvarna
  16. Steven Clarke, Stourbridge, United Kingdom, Honda
  17. Henry Miller, Rochester, MN, KTM
  18. Chase Marquier, Newcastle, OK, Husqvarna
  19. TJ Albright, Mount Marion, NY, KTM
  20. Dustin Winter, Clearwater, KS, Yamaha
  21. Luke Neese , Jamestown, NC, Yamaha
  22. Jace Owen, Mattoon, IL, Honda

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship Standings

  1. Austin Forkner (125)
  2. Chase Sexton (102)
  3. Justin Cooper (102)
  4. Alex Martin (78)
  5. Martin Davalos (71)
  6. Brandon Hartranft (71)
  7. Jordon Smith (70)
  8. Mitchell Oldenburg (69)
  9. Kyle Cunningham (65)
  10. Kyle Peters (62)
  11. Jordan Bailey (51)
  12. Joshua Osby (41)
  13. Lorenzo Locurcio (41)
  14. John Short (26)
  15. Henry Miller (25)
  16. Blake Wharton (23)
  17. Thomas Covington (20)
  18. Joshua Cartwright (20)
  19. Steven Clarke (18)
  20. Anthony Rodriguez (16)

[more-from heading=”More Supercross” category=”ama-supercross”]