Round twelve of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross is upon us this weekend in Arlington, Texas, with the final of three rounds being held at the AT&T Stadium this saturday night.

The first 450SX Class race held in the DFW Metroplex was on February 28th, 1975 in Irving’s Texas Stadium. Jimmy Ellis won the race on a Can-Am and then won the 1976 race in Texas Stadium as well. Bob Hannah won in 1977, a race that holds the record for most brands represented: Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki, Maico, Suzuki, Penton,Husqvarna, Bultaco, and Ossa.

After a five-year hiatus, the series returned to the DFW Metroplex from 1983-1985 and 1990 a the Dallas Cotton Bowl. Texas Stadium would host the series from 1975-1977, 1986-1989 and 1991-2008 before it was demolished in 2010. After hosting 26 straight seasons of Supercross racing between two demolished stadiums, DFW skipped the 2009 season while AT&T Stadium finished construction.


In 2010 AT&T Stadium hosted their first Supercross race. The series has returned to Arlington every year since. Texas Stadium hosted 25 events throughout their history, the Cotton Bowl hosted four, and AT&T Stadium has hosted 13. That makes the 2021 Arlington Supercross 3 the 43rd race held in the DFW Metroplex.

The winner of the DFW Metroplex Supercross has gone onto win the 450SX Class Championship 17 times in 40 seasons including Eli Tomac who won the triple-crown overall last season and Cooper Webb in 2019.

Take a look at the previous winners in Arlington below:

450SX Class Past Winners in the DFW Metroplex

1975: Jimmy Ellis, Can-am
1976: Jimmy Ellis, Can-am
1977: Bob Hannah, Yamaha
1983: Mike Bell, Yamaha
1984: Johnny O’Mara, Honda
1985: Rick Johnson, Yamaha
1986: David Bailey, Honda
1987: Rick Johnson, Honda
1988: Rick Johnson, Honda
1989: Jeff Ward, Kawasaki
1990: Jean-Michel Bayle, Honda
1991: Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha
1992: Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha
1993: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1994: Mike LaRocco, Kawasaki
1995: Doug Henry, Honda
1996: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1997: Jeff Emig, Kawasaki
1998: Ezra Lusk, Honda
1999: Kevin Windham, Honda
2000: Kevin Windham, Honda
2001: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki
2002: Ricky Carmichael, Honda
2003: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2004: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2005: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2006: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2007: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2008: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2010: Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
2011: Trey Canard, Honda
2012: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2013: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2014: James Stewart, Suzuki
2015: Ryan Dungey, KTM
2016: Ken Roczen, Suzuki
2017: Marvin Musquin, KTM
2018: Eli Tomac, Kawasaki
2019: Cooper Webb, KTM
2020: Eli Tomac, Kawasaki
2021: Cooper Webb, KTM
2021: Cooper Webb, KTM

250SX Class Past Winners in the DFW Metroplex

1985: Bobby Moore, Suzuki
1986: Keith Turpin, Honda
1987: Kyle Lewis, Honda
1988: Ty Davis, Suzuki
1989: Mike LaRocco, Yamaha
1990: Denny Stephenson, Suzuki
1991: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1992: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1993: Doug Henry, Honda
1994: Jimmy Button, Suzuki
1995: Damon Huffman, Suzuki
1996: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki
1997: Kevin Windham, Yamaha
1998: John Dowd, Yamaha
1999: Nathan Ramsey, Kawasaki
2000: Greg Schnell, Yamaha
2001: Grant Langston, KTM
2002: Travis Preston, Honda
2003: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2004: Ivan Tedesco, Kawasaki
2005: Grant Langston, Kawasaki
2006: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2007: Ben Townley, Kawasaki
March 19, 2021 5
2008: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2010: Blake Baggett, Suzuki
2011: Dean Wilson, Kawasak
2012: Justin Barcia, Honda
2013: Dean Wilson, Kawasaki
2014: Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki
2015: Marvin Musquin, KTM
2016: Cooper Webb, Yamaha
2017: Justin Hill, Kawasaki
2018: Zach Osborne, Husqvarna
2019: Austin Forkner, Kawasaki
2020: Chase Sexton, Honda
2021: Seth Hammaker, Kawasaki
2021: Hunter Lawrence, Honda