Despite the shocking theft from the paddock of five bikes, tools and equipment – this before the event even began – round three of the GT Cup held at Brookthorpe proved to be an otherwise ultimate success. With the magical number of 300 riders yet again achieved the series just builds and builds.

On track Charlie Heyman continued his total domination of the Auto 50cc class by once again winning all five races. With a solid weekend display going 3-4-4-5-4 Callum Murfit nicked section silver. Third on the podium was Jaygo Beasty then followed by Harrison Borg and Freddie Wyard with Luke Batty rounding out the top six.

The heat wins in the 65cc Junior division went mainly to Ike Carter as he scooped up three. Louie Kessell and Eddie Jay Wade were the other two race victors. Carter backed up with one second place result but one costly error on the weekend dropped him to third overall. Wade won the final heat of the weekend and this coupled to his previous results – (never lower than third) gave him the overall win. Kessell with another polished show settled for second overall. Lewis Wood carded three fifths as best claiming a more than decent fourth overall as Tom Leadbitter and Frankie Cutmore totalled in fifth and sixth.


In the small wheel 85cc division three boys walked the walk best, eventual overall winner Christopher Mills, his Powerband teamster Tom Grimshaw and wildcard entrant Callum Gasson. On day one with Grimshaw a might battered and bruised following a couple of incidents it was Gasson who starred with a 2-1-1 return. Chris Mills won the days opener in a closer than close finish but on day two it was Grimshaw who came to the front taking both heat wins. All totalled in championship terms Mills now closes right down on Grimshaw (second overall ) at the top. Connor Ford was a well happy bunny with his third overall – Connors result bested with a points second in heat one. Oliver Cook, Carl Budge, and Callum Beekan fought hard and long for the other podium places.

Going 2-4-1-2-2 Henry Siddiqui claimed a hard-fought win in the Big Wheel 85cc section. Henry also takes over as section leader heading into round four at Wroxton. The remaining four heat wins went the way of Albie Wilkie as he put on a truly brilliant show – just one poor result knocking Wilkie back to third overall. Splitting the two heat winners on the podium was Michael Ellis, his weekend bested with a brace of second place returns. Following a poor start, on day two Will Jeonney recovered well with a 3-3-5 show – Jeonney taking fourth overall.

Rickie Roderick was also a four times winner in the MXY2 division. Roderick also carded one second place result for a conclusive overall win. In the title race Roderick is now putting some pressure on leader Kieran Banks. The only rider crossing the line in front of Roderick down in Gloucestershire was indeed Banks as he took second overall. Ben Harrison always looked quick enough to steal a heat win but he had to settle for second in heat one as best and third overall. In a tight old squabble for the places 4-6 Charlie Putnam just got it from Tony Saunders and Karl Noble.

Young bloods going head-to-head with a more experienced hand proved to be the story line in the 125cc smoker class. Robert Yates and Henry Williams being the whipper snapper duo who won all before them in the opening three heats. Yates won the first two with Williams winning heat three. After this it was mainly all about Davis as he took the chequers first in heats four and five. All totalled with Yates dropping out of the meeting in heat four Davies with a 3-3-2-1-1 card claimed a terrific overall win. Following an awesome weekend show Williams ended up just two points adrift in second overall. Jonathon Roderick Evans ran consistently well for section third overall. Leighton Holmes finished with a day two flourish grabbing fourth as Luke Smith beat off Ryan Butler for section fifth.

In the Adult Clubman MX2 class there was a day one exhibition of how to do it right coming from Greg Hanson as he won both of the day’s motos. In Sunday action with Hanson not racing Ashley Watt and Scott Hambridge were the day’s winners with Hambridge getting the overall win. Myles Duffy finished in second with Ady Peedle in third.

Clinton Barrs (1-2) and Nathan Watson (2-1) were the star turns winning one heat a piece in the combined capacity Experts on day one. Josh Spinks to his massive credit riding on borrowed machinery was able to put the otherwise disappointments of the weekend behind him (while out on track at least) to record a memorable winning brace on day two. In the championship stakes Spinks increases his lead in MX1 as does MX2 overall winner Seb Osbourne.