Dungey soars to seventh Monster Energy Supercross win at inaugural race inside Levi’s Stadium and Webb wins again, taking home win number six in the 250SX Class…

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey earned his seventh Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race win tonight in front of 42,336 fans at the inaugural race inside Levi Stadium. Just one week after clinching the Western Regional 250SX Class Championship, Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Cooper Webb followed up with a win on Saturday night.

Autotrader.com/Toyota/Yamaha’s Justin Barcia, who is in his second race back from injury, won the SupercrossLive.com Holeshot Award in the 450SX Class with Discount Tire/TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed following in second. While battling for the lead on lap two, Reed crashed and dropped to last place.


Dungey, who clinched his second 450SX Class Championship last weekend in Houston, moved into second place and Autotrader.com/Toyota/Yamaha’s Weston Peick moved into third place on lap one.

Dungey passed Barcia for the lead on lap three and started to pull away. The following lap, Peick moved into second place, and on lap six, GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac moved into third place.

Tomac made one final move for second place on lap 10 to pick up his ninth podium finish of the season. Peick held on for third place, which was the first best finish of his career.

Coming into tonight’s race, Dungey was tied with Jeff Ward for eight place on the all-time 450SX Class win list, and he is now in sole possession of that position.

“Today was rough; it took a few practices to finally get the bike dialled in,” said Dungey. “The Heat Race win gave me a good spot on the gate for the Main Event, which was a big help in getting the start I did.”

“It’s been a rough season for me, many ups and downs,” said Peick. “To be able to put the bike on the podium for the team is awesome. I am stoked.”

Watch: Monster Energy Supercross Santa Clara Main Event Highlights

Watch: Huge pile-up on the Santa Clara 250 Main Event holeshot

Motosport.com/Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Josh Hansen started the Western Regional 250SX Class Main Event with the SupercrossLive.com Holeshot Award, and behind him a massive pile-up in turn one collected several riders, including Red Bull KTM’s Justin Hill and Webb. Webb’s team-mates Jeremy Martin and Aaron Plessinger followed in second and third respectively.

On lap one, Plessinger passed Martin for second place, and on lap three, he passed Hansen for the lead.

By lap four, Webb had moved into fourth place after starting in ninth. While leading, Plessinger crashed on lap six and dropped to fourth place, giving the lead back to Hansen. On the same lap, and Webb moved into second place.

On lap eight, following an intense battle between Hansen and Webb, Webb took over the lead and rode to his sixth win of the season and fourth consecutive. Hansen was forced to withdraw from the race due to mechanical issues.

Plessinger was holding down the number three position when he once again crashed on lap nine. Plessinger’s crash allowed Hill to move into second place, where he would finish, marking Hill’s second podium of the season. Martin finished third, marking his fifth podium finish of the season.

“It was definitely a wild and hectic main event. I just tried to get up as fast as I could and charge,” said Webb. It was basically a race to get your bike up the fastest and it worked out. I had fun racing with Hansen.”

Racing continues next weekend at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, where the first-ever live broadcast of Monster Energy Supercross will take place on FOX at 3:00 p.m. ET.

Analysis: Santa Clara Supercross

450SX Class Results, Santa Clara
1 Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
2 Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
3 Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha
4 Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna
5 Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda
6 Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki
7 Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
8 Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
9 Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
10 Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Kawasaki 
450SX Class Season Standings
1 Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 343
2 Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 258
3 Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda, 239
4 Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 212
5 Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda, 204
6 Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 190
7 Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna, 188
8 Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 168
9 Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki, 164
10 Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 156
Western Regional 250SX Class Results, Santa Clara
1 Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha
2 Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM
3 Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha
4 Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda
5 Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM
6 Jackson Richardson, Wildomar, Calif., Honda
7 Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha
8 Matt Bisceglia, Weatherford, Texas, Honda
9 Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda
10 Scott Champion, Wildomar, Calif., Yamaha
Western Regional 250SX Class Season Standings
1 Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha, 186
2 Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM, 124
3 Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Husqvarna, 117
4 Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM, 116
5 Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha, 113
6 Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 111
7 Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda, 107
8 Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., KTM, 106
9 Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 105
10 Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki, 91
Eastern Regional 250SX Class Season Standings
1 Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM, 169
2 Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 149
3 Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 125
4 Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki, 113
5 RJ Hampshire, Hudson, Fla., Honda, 84
6 Anthony Rodriguez, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 84
7 Jimmy Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 84
8 Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda, 76
9 Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Husqvarna, 63
10 Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Kawasaki, 60