Roczen claims first-ever Monster Energy Cup Championship, Forkner remains undefeated and Kobusch dominates supermini class…

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Austin Forkner won his first-ever Amateur All-Star Class Championship, sweeping both Main Events. Kawasaki’s Lance Kobusch also swept both Main Events and won the first-ever Supermini-Class Championship of his career.

Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson won the Toyota Holeshot Award in Main Event 1 of the Monster Energy Cup Class. Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard moved into the lead on the opening lap as Roczen pulled into second place with Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey in third place.


While leading, Canard crashed, allowing Roczen to assume the lead. Dungey took over second-place and moved into third place. On Lap 9, Roczen went through the Joker Lane, a slower section of the track that every rider must take at least once after the first lap, and Anderson moved into the lead. Anderson did cross the finish line in first place but was penalised for not taking the Joker Lane. Roczen won the race, with Dungey in second place and BTO Sports KTM’s Davi Millsaps, the reigning Monster Energy Cup Champion, in third place.

“I knew that I wanted to take the Joker Lane on the last lap, and it worked out for me,” said Roczen. “I look forward to coming out strong for the second Main Event.”

In the opening Main Event of the Supermini Class, Max Miller (watch a video of Max doing his MEC prep) won the Toyota Holeshot Award. KTM’s Austin Black quickly moved into the number-one position. Kobusch started in third place and traded positions with Miller before taking over second place.

Kobusch made a pass for the lead on Lap 4 and rode to victory. Black finished in second and Miller finished in third place.

Forkner opened the Amateur All-Star Class’ first Main Event with the Toyota Holeshot Award. Kawasaki’s Zach Commans and Yamaha’s Jon Ames followed in second and third respectively. On Lap 1, John Osby put his KTM in third place, and on the following lap Commans crashed and Osby took over third place.

Honda’s Chase Sexton moved into third place after Commans crashed, and on Lap 5, he took over second place. Forkner won the race with Sexton in second and Osby in third place.

Anderson won the Toyota Holeshot Award in Main Event #2, but’s Justin Barcia quickly moved into the lead on the opening lap. On Lap 1, Anderson passed Barcia for the lead on the AMSOIL Arch, and Millsaps passed Dungey on the same lap for third place.

Roczen then passed Millsaps on Lap 3 for third place but was passed by Canard one lap later. Canard did not stop, passing Roczen for second place.

Anderson won the race with Canard in second and Barcia in third place.

“I got confused in the first Main Event and didn’t take the Joker Lane, but there was no way I was going to make that mistake twice,” said Anderson. “It was a great race for me.”

Kawasaki’s Stilez Robertson’s started the second and final Main Event of the Supermini Class with the Toyota Holeshot Award as KTM’s Joshua Varize and Kobusch followed in second and third respectively. Kobusch moved around Varize to take over second place. Miller passed Varize for third place on Lap 1.

Kobusch used a last-lap pass on Robertson to take over the lead and eventual win. Stilez crashed shortly after being passed, and this allowed Miller to take over and finish in second place. Varize finished in third place.

Kobusch won the overall with the 1-1 sweep, Miller finished second overall with 3-2 finishes and Varize finished third with 5-3 finishes.

“I had a pretty good start and just kept my head down,” said Kobusch. “I had a sketchy moment when I collided with Stilez [Robertson] in the air but I saved it. “It slowed me down a little bit but I made up time and made the pass for the win. This is a huge win for me, and I hope to be back here next year in the Amateur All-Star Class.

Forkner won his second consecutive Toyota Holeshot Award to start Main Event #2 in the Amateur All-Star Class. Sexton followed in second and Osby was close behind in third place. Yamaha’s Mitchell Harrison moved into third place around the halfway point.

Forkner won the Main Event and Amateur All-Star Championship. He remains undefeated in his Monster Energy Cup races, winning all six of the Main Events he has entered, and is the only rider to accomplish this feat.

“This was a great track tonight,” said Forkner. “I wanted to prove to everyone that I could ride a big bike, and I did that tonight. I am stoked to be undefeated in my career here at the Monster Energy Cup.”

Sexton finished second overall with 2-2 finishes and Robertson finished third with 5-3 finishes.

Anderson won his third Toyota Holeshot Award in Main Event #3 as Roczen and Dungey trailed in second and third respectively. On the opening lap, Roczen moved into the lead and shortly after, Dungey passed Anderson for second place.

Roczen held on for his second Main Event win of the night and won his first-ever Monster Energy Cup Championship with 1-4-1 finishes. Dungey finished second and third overall with 2-5-2 finishes. Anderson finished third with 6-1-3 finishes.

By winning all three Toyota Holeshot Award, Anderson received a brand-new Toyota Tundra.

In his first Monster Energy Cup since 2013, Yoshimura’s James Stewart withdrew from racing after the first Main Event.

Feld Motor Sports say the 2016 Monster Energy Cup will take place on Saturday, October 17 but that’s a Monday so we’ll go ahead and assume they mean October 15.

Monster Energy Cup Class Overall Results

1. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki (1-4-1)
2. Ryan Dungey, Tallahassee, Fla., KTM (2-5-2)
3. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna (6-1-3)
4. Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla., Yamaha (5-3-4)
5. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., KTM (3-6-6)
6. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda (10-2-14)
7. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C., KTM (11-7-12)
8. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki (4-9-18)
9. Christian Craig, Plymouth, Minn., Honda (14-14-5)
10. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha (9-16-8)

Amateur All-Star Class Overall Results

1. Austin Forkner, Richards, Mo., Kawasaki (1-1)
2. Chase Sexton, La Moille, Ill., Honda (2-2)
3. Mitchell Harrison, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha (5-3)
4. Josh Osby, Valparaiso, Ind., KTM (3-5)
5. Tristan Charboneau, Tenino, Wash., Honda (4-6)
6. Bradley Taft, Nixa, Mo., Yamaha (10-4)
7. Sean Cantrell, Newbury Park, Calif., KTM (6-8)
8. Max Markolf, Fort Mill, S.C, KTM (8-9)
9. Dylan Merriam, Corona, Calif., KTM (12-10)
10. Mitchell Falk, Costa Mesa, Calif., KTM (17-7)

Supermini Class Overall Results

1. Lance Kobusch, New Florence, Mo., Kawasaki (1-1)
2. Max Miller, Springfield, Ore., KTM (3-2)
3. Joshua Varize, Perris, Calif., KTM (5-3)
4. Jo Shimoda, Winchester, Calif., KTM (4-6)
5. Jesse Flock, Adair, Okla., KTM (6-9)
6. Chase Fasnacht, Port St. Lucie, Fla., Kawasaki (9-8)
7. Austin Black, Tualatin, Ore., KTM (2-15)
8. Conner Mullennix, Lakeside, Calif., KTM (14-4)
9. Marcus Phelps, Cairo, Ga., KTM (7-12)
10. Hannah Hodges, Deland, Fla., Kawasaki (13-7)

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge

Casey Cochran, Arlington, Tenn., KTM
Dalton Tisdel, Sturgis, Mich., KTM
Austin Weinsziehr, Amanda, Ohio, KTM
Kason Little, Magnolia, Texas, KTM
Ian Fruge, Rayne, La., KTM
Van Adams, Morgantown, Ind., KTM
Landin Pepperd, Wasilla, Alaska, KTM
Preston Zollers, North Aurora, Ill., KTM
Nate Freehill, El Dorado Hills, Calif., KTM
Tyler Mollett, Port St. Lucie, Fla., KTM