Round six of the Jim Jones Irish Motocross Championship was hosted by Cookstown Motocross Club at the World famous Grand Prix circuit (Desertmartin) on a lovely summers day.

In the Premier MX1 Class, Suitor Bros Watt KTM rider Lisburn’s Richard Bird claimed the overall win with two wins and a third to narrow the gap on Championship leader Gary Gibson from Ballygowan on his Bannside Pallets & Haulage Suzuki by a scant seven points, the two Championship contenders split on the podium by Combers Wayne Garrett on the IFS Honda, showing a return to form with two seconds and a third, but Wayne will be expecting more himself.

Fourth was Loughbrickland teenager John Meara on the TMC Honda, with Michael McCammond from Larne on his Honda fifth, sixth was his neighbour, Tommy Merton on the Monster Energy Watt Kawasaki.


In the concurrently run MX2 Class, Glenoe youngster Glenn McCormick on his Agnew Recovery Watt KTM stretched his lead by 13 points over Loughbrickland 16 year old Jason Meara on the AMR Honda with an impressive three wins, Jason slipped up in race three where he only managed a fourth allowing his rival to slip further ahead.

Third was Wicklows Jim O’Neill, with an impressive William Donnelly from Dromara finishing fourth, and Moira’s Scott Hamilton fifth.

Rounding out the top six was Dubliner Jordan Keogh, O’Neills recently announced Coupe de l’Avenir team mate.

In the MX1 Semi Expert Class, Meghaberry man Ryan Glover posted his first overall win of 2013 with an impressive three out of three wins, second was new Championship leader Jordan McCaw from Ballyclare on the two stroke KTM, from new second place man Phil Harris on the Suitor Bros Watt KTM, these two swapping places but still only one point between them!

Fourth was Suitor Bros Watt KTM mounted Mark Patterson from Crossgar, Saintfields Scott Leaney on the Honda fifth, and Paul Atkinson from Doagh sixth.

The Semi Expert MX2 Class was won by newly Crowned Ulster Champion Millisle teenager Luke Smith on the Monster Energy Watt Kawasaki, with Dylan Coffey from Dublin runner up, it’s still a two horse race between these two as Smith only pulled three points on Coffey.

Rounding out the podium was Jake Sheridan, with Darren Grills from Newtownards fourth, a returning from injury Ben Mottram on his Agnew Recovery Yamaha fifth, and Anthony Brown sixth.

Clubmans MX1 produced three wins for Moira’s Jordan Blakely, substantially increasing his Championship advantage over Andrew McKibben who had a horrendous day.

Second was Bangor man Kyle Darley on the Aquarius Couriers Kawasaki, with Kenneth Rea scoring his maiden podium finish.

Tony Colgan finished fourth with Neill Laverty and Conor McCoy rounding out the top six.

Clubmans MX2 is turning into a 212 Motorsports team battle with Alexander Ellisonfrom Downpatrick cutting team mate Lisburns Chris Eccles lead to two points, Scott Bailey from Markethill maintained his third place in the Championship with a solid third overall.

David Morrison, Kurtis Todd and Ryan Burnside filled out the top six.

A great days racing at the GP track, next round is the responsibility of Motorcycling Ireland, with the final round held back up north in September at Seaforde.