The second round of the Maxxis ACU British Motocross Championship saw Honda’s MX1 and MX2 teams head to Lyng in Norfolk and the weekend brought mixed results for Buildbase Honda MX1 riders Elliott Banks-Browne and Brad Anderson.

While Putoline Apico Honda’s Neville Bradshaw performed well on his CRF250R to occupy the third step of the MX2 podium.

In MX1, both Banks-Browne and Anderson qualified well to comfortably transfer into the Superpole session. The first race of day saw Banks-Browne start inside the top five and he maintained position to finish fourth. Anderson worked his way through the pack from 15th to take eighth. When the gate dropped for the second race, both riders got off to a good start in and around the top five but on the second lap Anderson collided with another rider and went down. He re-mounted and battled back to sixth, while Banks-Browne finished just one place ahead in fifth.


The final race of the day saw both riders finish in the top 10 – Anderson in seventh and Banks-Browne in ninth.

The results placed Banks-Browne fourth overall on the day, just two points off the final step of the podium and he remains fourth overall in the standings. Anderson’s three results gave him eighth overall, just four points behind his team-mate on the day and fifth in the championship overall.

“I got a good start in the first race but I rode really tight all race and finished fourth,” said Banks-Browne. “The second race it was same, I just rode tight and started to get better at the end and finished fifth. In the last race I got a bad start and rode badly towards the end. I don’t know what happened today so we will do some more testing and get back to where we should be.”

Brad Anderson said: “Today has been really tough, three shocking starts and crashes in the first two races made it really hard. The track was really rough today and that suited me. My second race was possibly my best ride of the day and I know that I have the speed but I just need to get my starts sorted.”

In MX2, Putoline Apico Honda’s Bradshaw had a successful weekend, securing three top-three finishes to end the day in third overall. His team-mate James Harrison came 20th, 22nd and 19th to finish 24th overall.

Dave Thorpe – Team Manager commented: “Brad rode really well today considering the starts he had and the two crashes and with some luck on his side he would have been on the podium. For Elliott it’s been a tough day, which started okay and then went off track as the day went on, Elliott now needs to look at himself and refocus before the next round.”

MX1 Overall
1. Shaun Simpson                                                          
2. Jake Nicholls                                                               
3. Kristian Whatley                                                          
4. Elliott Banks Browne                                               
5. Nathan Watson                                                           
6. Graeme Irwin                                                               
7. Gert Krestinov                                                             
8. Brad Anderson                                                         
9. Priit Ratsep                                                                  
10. Matthew Moffa
MX1 Championship
1. Shaun Simpson 139
2. Jake Nicholls 134
3. Kristian Whatley 108
4. Elliott Banks-Browne 100 (HON)
5. Brad Anderson 94 (HON)
6. Nathan Watson 74
7. Gert Krestinov 73
8. Graeme Irwin 69
9. Alex Snow 66
10. Jamie Law 59       
MX2 Overall
1. Mel Pocock                                                                
2. Matiss Karro                                                              
3. Neville Bradshaw                                                    
4. Adam Sterry                                                              
5. Bryan MacKenzie                                                      
6. Ben Watson                                                              
7. James Cottrell                                                           
8. Lewis Tombs                                                            
9. Steven Clarke                                                           
10. Lewis Trickett
24. James Harrison
MX2 Championship
1. Mel Pocock 128
2. Matiss Karro 126
3. Neville Bradshaw 107
4. Adam Sterry 98
5. Bryan MacKenzie 94
6. Lewis Trickett 75
7. James Dunn 75
8. Ben Watson 66
9. Lewis Tombs 65
10. James Cottrell 61