Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM’s Jessy Nelson made the best of a Main Event restart to grab the holeshot and come away with a second-place finish at the third and final stop in Anaheim, California. Team-mate Shane McElrath also took advantage of the restart to finish sixth.

Heat race winner

Nelson started the day qualifying in the top five, using that speed to grab his third heat race win of the season (Phoenix, Oakland and A3).

Wild Main Event

It was a wild night for the riders when it came to the Main Event. After running five laps, the race official determined that not all gates dropped properly, making it an unfair start. This played to both TLD riders’ advantage.


“I had a great heat race,” said Nelson. “The restart helped me since my start wasn’t as good in the first gate drop. Once I was in the lead, it was good, but I made some mistakes and Cooper got around me. Overall I still felt good about my ride. We’ll see what we can do next week in San Diego.”

Striving for improvement

Like Nelson, McElrath couldn’t complain about the restart, making up positions and eventually finishing just outside the top five in sixth.

“I was definitely thankful that we got to have a full restart,” said McElrath. “I should be getting better starts, and thankfully I was able to put a decent one together on the restart. I felt good and I know I’ll just keep working at getting on that podium before the season is over.”

Nelson moved into second in the championship standings, while McElrath is eighth.

We’re off to San Diego

The team makes its final stop at Petco Park in San Diego, California before the Western Regional 250SX Class goes on a two month hiatus, returning April 11 in Houston, Texas.

250 Overall Results

1. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
2. Jessy Nelson (TLD/Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM)
3. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha)
4. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna)
5. Matt Bisceglia (Honda)
6. Shane McElrath (TLD/Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM)
7. Josh Hansen (Kawasaki)
8. Justin Hill (KTM)
9. Alex Martin (Yamaha)
10. Cole Martinez (Yamaha)
11. Jackson Richardson (Honda)
12. Thomas Hahn (Honda)
13. Zack Freeberg (Yamaha)
14. Chris Alldredge (Kawasaki)
15. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
16. Trevor Reis (Yamaha)
17. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)
18. Ryan Breece (Yamaha)
19. Austin Politelli (Yamaha)
20. Blake Lilly (KTM)
21. Zach Bell (Husqvarna)
22. Johnny Jelderda (Honda)