Tony Cairoli won his third Qualifying race of the 2019 FIM Motocross World Championship in Agueda at the MXGP of Portugal.

Team HRC’s Tim Gajser pulled the holey ahead of Cairoli, Alessandro Lupino, Romain Febvre and Gautier Paulin, while Ivo Monticelli was in sixth place.

Monster Energy Yamaha’s Febvre – who was making his return to racing after a nasty ankle injury in Argentina – fell from fourth after he tipped over – he took the chequers in eighth place.


Clement Desalle took no prisoners when he passed Monticelli, which was the start of a poor few laps from the Italian rider with Julien Lieber and Max Anstie soon making their way past. Monticelli would finish in 22nd.

Related: MXGP of Portugal results 2019

Don’t miss: Thomas Kjer Olsen wins MXGP of Portugal MX2 Qualifying – report

Desalle continued to make progress and passed Paulin for fourth place but could not catch Lupino.

Cairoli started to shorten the gap to Gajser and would eventually make a pass stick after a few corners of close racing.

Max Anstie was running as high as 11th but would fall and end the quali race in 30th.

Tommy Searle stayed out of trouble and finished in 10th while Simpson was two further places back.

[more-from heading=”Also In MXGP” category=”mxgp”]