A memorable day in Assen for 37,000 motocross fans, Shaun Simpson, Tim Gajser and MXGP rookie Romain Febvre who clinched the world motocross title.

Before racing had commenced there was a lot of speculation as to how the super-soft white sand would hold up and also as to how the crowd would respond to the MXGP of The Netherlands taking place on a man-made circuit rather than at one of their beloved and historic sand tracks.

But in the end, the event exceeded all expectations with 37,000 enthusiastic fans coming out to witness the brand new and spectacular track shape up just as a true sand circuit would.


It was a memorable day for Hitachi Construction Machinery Revo KTM’s Shaun Simpson and Honda Gariboldi’s Tim Gajser who stood top of the box in their respective classes, but even more so for Yamaha Factory Racing Yamalube’s Romain Febvre who clinched the MXGP world title in his rookie season with two rounds to go.


It has been his best season yet and it is only getting better for Shaun Simpson who has just moved to fourth in the MXGP championship standings after landing on top of the box here in Assen.

In regards to the uniqueness of this event the Scot said: “On the whole, this weekend has been a great experience, the track developed quite well and it had one of the best starts of the year. I enjoyed it and I would definitely like to come back here again.”

It was a spine tingling end to the weekend for Yamaha Factory Racing Yamalube’s Romain Febvre who eventually warmed up to the beach-like sand of Assen to win the final moto and be crowned FIM Motocross World Champion.

The supercharged crowd were right behind their Dutch motocross sensation Rockstar Energy Suzuki Europe’s Glenn Coldenhoff who stood on the third step on the podium here at his home grand prix.

Team HRC’s Evgeny Bobryshev had good speed all weekend but faded in both races while his team-mate Gautier Paulin made a few too many errors. The Honda duo went fourth and fifth respectively.

MXGP Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 34:06.986; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:07.820; 3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:17.408; 4. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:21.124; 5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:27.726; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:33.041; 7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:50.954; 8. Dean Ferris (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:56.817; 9. Todd Waters (AUS, Husqvarna), +1:04.682; 10. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:27.079

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), 33:54.650; 2. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:08.684; 3. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:15.773; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:20.569; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:24.983; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:26.774; 7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:41.941; 8. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +1:21.248; 9. Todd Waters (AUS, Husqvarna), +1:25.816; 10. Jeffrey Dewulf (BEL, Yamaha), +1:30.051

MXGP Overall Top Ten: 1. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 45 points; 2. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 41 p.; 3. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 40 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 40 p.; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 36 p.; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 30 p.; 7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 28 p.; 8. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 24 p.; 9. Dean Ferris (AUS, HUS), 23 p.; 10. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 20 p

MXGP Championship Top Ten: 1. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 638 points; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 536 p.; 3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 499 p.; 4. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 437 p.; 5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 416 p.; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 414 p.; 7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 394 p.; 8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 361 p.; 9. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 331 p.; 10. Todd Waters (AUS, HUS), 324 p

MXGP Manufacturer: 1. Yamaha, 646 points; 2. KTM, 628 p.; 3. Suzuki, 616 p.; 4. Honda, 609 p.; 5. Husqvarna, 574 p.; 6. Kawasaki, 369 p.; 7. TM, 126 p.


The looming question as to whether Honda Gariboldi’s Tim Gajser can simultaneously up his game in the sand and keep his head calm enough to take the red plate was answered this weekend with the Slovenian taking a win and a second place for the overall and the red plate. Gajser now leads Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Pauls Jonass in the MX2 championship by 13 points.

“It was a difficult day today, we had a few issues in the first race and I crashed and even in this one I struggled in the last 10 minutes,” Monster Energy DRT Kawasaki’s heavy hitter Max Anstie said right after winning the final race. The Brit only managed to finish ninth in race one after he binned it and struggled to get his bike re-started. Nevertheless, #99 overcame the adversity he faced today with his convincing moto win in race two for second overall.

It was an emotionally charged day for Kemea Yamaha Yamalube’s Brent Van Doninck, who uncorked his first bottle of bubbles. “I am so happy. It’s really special for me, normally I wasn’t meant to be racing GP’s this year so I didn’t think this would happen in my first year,” the young Belgian said after stepping down from the third step of the podium.

Standing Construct Yamaha Yamalube’s Julien Lieber looked at home on the whooped out sand of Assen today where he missed the podium by one point while Rockstar Energy Suzuki Europe’s Jeremy Seewer rode smooth for fifth.

It was another rough round of motocross for the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing squad with Pauls Jonass going down in race two and smashing off his front brake. Jonass pulled into pitlane for repairs and re-joined the race almost a lap down. Impressively, the young Latvian managed to charge his way back to 13th while his team-mate Davy Pootjes pulled out of the race due to the pain of a tendon injury on his wrist.

HSF Logistic Motorsport Team’s Brian Bogers finished up in 10th overall.

MX2 Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:39.248; 2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:04.445; 3. Julien Lieber (BEL, Yamaha), +0:07.381; 4. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), +0:10.620; 5. Harri Kullas (FIN, Husqvarna), +0:18.777; 6. Thomas Covington (USA, Kawasaki), +0:23.741; 7. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:57.762; 8. Davy Pootjes (NED, KTM), +1:02.306; 9. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), +1:17.932; 10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +1:19.774.

MX2 Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), 33:49.752; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:12.125; 3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:18.973; 4. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), +0:20.462; 5. Petar Petrov (BUL, Kawasaki), +0:27.709; 6. Julien Lieber (BEL, Yamaha), +0:31.134; 7. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:31.299; 8. Harri Kullas (FIN, Husqvarna), +0:35.111; 9. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +1:08.426; 10. Ben Watson (GBR, KTM), +1:09.258.

MX2 Overall Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 47 points; 2. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 37 p.; 3. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 36 p.; 4. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 35 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 31 p.; 6. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 30 p.; 7. Harri Kullas (FIN, HUS), 29 p.; 8. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 28 p.; 9. Thomas Covington (USA, KAW), 25 p.; 10. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 22 p.; 11. Ben Watson (GBR, KTM), 18 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 518 points; 2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 505 p.; 3. Max Anstie (GBR, KAW), 474 p.; 4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 446 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 440 p.; 6. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 423 p.; 7. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 393 p.; 8. Julien Lieber (BEL, YAM), 391 p.; 9. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 320 p.; 10. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 301 p.

MX2 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 689 points; 2. Kawasaki, 673 p.; 3. Yamaha, 569 p.; 4. Honda, 559 p.; 5. Suzuki, 441 p.; 6. Husqvarna, 388 p.; 7. TM, 85 p.