With the series set to reach it’s halfway point this weekend, round three of the Michelin MX Nationals heads off to lovely Lyng in Norfolk.

In the Gaerne Small-wheel 85 class, there’s a new series leader after round two at Hawkstone Park as Tyla Hooley heads the talented bunch.

Finlay Boxall, the previous pole-sitter drops to second, after he was unfortunately injured on day two at Hawkstone and Harrison Greenough moves up to third.


Both Hooley and Greenough came away from Shropshire with a race-win apiece, but it was double race-winner McKenzie Marshall who stole the show and topped the box.

Hooley’s lead at the top is a comfortable 26 points.

Claiming seven of the eight race wins so far, Sam Atkinson also enjoys a good advantage at the top, this time in the Wiseco Big-wheel 85cc class, as he leads Bailey Johnston by 25 points.

Judd Racing KTM star Johnston, has also been the model of consistency while leading the chase behind Atkinson, only once missing a top-three finish.

He in turn leads Thomas Harris by 33 points. Rounding out the top six, Joe Brooks heads Charlie Palmer and Arai Elcock respectively.

In MXY1 there’s a new top dog in place too as Belfast boy, Ryan Mawhinney, takes over the Talon 125cc class lead.

A stunning show from the Revo Husqvarna pilot in Shropshire saw him run a 2-1-1-1 card and he now leads the championship, sitting 16 clear of the round winner James Smith. Louie Kessell moved into series third at Hawkstone, Oliver Beamish is close behind him in fourth, while Harry Barker and Jack Parker complete the top six.

Crescent Yamaha ace Bobby Bruce, was the race-one winner at Hawkstone, but unluckily for him his meeting ended on day one.
Since then he has shown more terrific form and been up on the Maxxis MXY2 podium.

Running red hot in all his championships this year, GL12 Husqvarna man Ike Carter, has a firm control in the MXY2 division.

With nothing worse than two second place finishes accompanying his six MX Nationals race wins, Carter holds a solid 25-point advantage over Manchester Mcs Husqvarna pilot Kyle McNicol.
The battle up at the front has mainly featured these two.

Sitting in third place, Team Green’s Kacey Hird has a single race win to his name and he only trails McNicol by six points.

Ever consistent podium threat Ryan Thompson, holds series fourth, as Ben Clark and Konrad Dabrowski rest on equal points behind him.

MXN Gaerne Small-Wheel 85s: 1 Tyler Hooley 153, 2 Finlay Boxall 127, 3 Harrison Greenough 112, 4 Billy Askew 94, 5 Josh Vail 93, 6 Keelan Hope 92
MXN Wiseco Big-Wheel 85s: 1 Sam Atkinson 191, 2 Bailey Johnston 166, 3 Thomas Harris 133, 4 Joe Brooks 126, 5 Charlie Palmer 116, 6 Arai Elcock 110.
Talon 125 MXY1: 1 Ryan Mawhinney 176, 2 James Smith 160, 3 Louie Kessell 154, 4 Oliver Beamish 150, 5 Harry Barker 121, 6 Jack Parker 96.
Talon 250f MXY2: 1 Ike Carter 194, 2 Kyle McNicol 169, 3 Kacey Hird 163, 4 Ryan Thompson 150, 5 Ben Clark 104, 6 Marshall Smith 58, 6 Konrad Dabrowski 104.

[more-from heading=”More Motocross” category=”motocross”]