The 2017 Michelin MX Nationals Motocross Championship heads to the iconic venue of Hawkstone Park near Market Drayton this weekend.

The venue has been host to many top class events since 1950 and the world famous hill has seen action from Grand Prix, Internationals as well as the series annual visit.

Expert Classes – MX1 and MX2

In the British Championship MX2 Expert class, sponsored by Bell Racing, Jake Sheridan heads the way after Round 2 at Lyng. Jake claimed the first race win of the weekend in the class and was part of some awesome action that then saw three other race winners. Ben Franklin claimed the other race win on Saturday. Josh Coleman had a great weekend, not finishing outside the top three all weekend and claiming a last race win and the overall on his way to second in the championship standings. Glenn McCorick claimed Sunday morning’s race win on route to second overall and third in the series standings.


In the British Championship MX1 Expert class, sponsored by Fly Racing, Jamie Jackson continued his winning ways on Saturday morning but with no points scored on Sunday Jamie now sits second in the series standings.

Luke Parker was in impressive form taking two race wins over the weekend on the way to amassing 92 points and the series lead heading to Hawkstone. Others to look out for are third in the standings Declan Whittle, Ryan Crowder and after claiming third on the Podium at Lyng, Jed Etchells.

Elite Clubman Classes – MX1 and MX2

In the Elite Clubman MX2 class, sponsored by RFX, Tony Cadman still leads the way in the standings after claiming third on the podium and taking the third race win. Harry Fletcher moved up to second after claiming the overall after two race wins on Saturday. Ryan King took three third paces over the Lyng weekend on his way to taking third in the championship.

Look out for Brad Thornhill, Toby Lightbrown and Fabio Rizzi who claimed the last moto win at Lyng.

The Elite Clubman MX1 class, sponsored by Moto Connection, has Sean Barnsdale leading after two events. As at Preston, we saw four different race winners over the Lyng weekend. Danny Townsend took the first win of the weekend with Barnsdale claiming the honours in moto two, Aiden Christie continued his consistent form with a last race win, third overall on the day and third in the series.

MXY1 and MXY2 (combined)

Youth action comes in the form of the combined MXY1 and MXY2 races, supported by Talon.

Lewis Hall has dominated the opening two rounds of MXY2 250cc class taking the maximum 200 points on his way to an impressive eight wins.

Aaron Lee Hanson claimed another 73 points to go with the same amount taken at the opening round on his way to second overall and moving to second in the championship.

A second race DNF has seen Keenan Hird slip to third and is tied with Ben Clark who took the final place on the podium at Lyng.

After Round 2 at Lyng the MXY1 125cc class saw Rossi Beard leading the way after taking three race wins. Further consistent riding from Sam Nunn sees him retain a championship top three and places him behind Joel Rizzi in second place.

85cc Small Wheel and Big Wheel (combined)

The Gaerne 85cc class sees the UK’s leading young riders take on the iconic track in the combined small wheel and big wheel race.

Alfie Jones, championship leader in the small wheels took an impressive four out of four race wins and a maximum 100 points at Lyng. He now holds a 28-point lead over second placed Oliver Barr. Thomas Harris follows these two in third after suffering an unfortunate DNF in the third race at Lyng.

In the big wheels Dominic Lancett leads the standings after claiming the overall and two race wins at Round 2, that saw him wrestle the red plate from Kyle Mcnicol who now sits eight points adrift.

Lewis Wood will be hoping to keep going with his consistent riding that sees him just 11 points adrift of Kyle without yet claiming a win.

‘Fastest 40’ Pro Races – MX1 and MX2

On Sunday, the Fastest 40 races come into the mix.

These two Pro races take place at 12.30 and 3.30 pm (subject to delays) with each race lasting 30 minutes plus two laps just like a Grand Prix race.

The Fastest 40 features many of the best UK MX1 and MX2 pro riders racing together in the Prox Racing Parts supported class.

As well as the championship regulars, Monster Energy DRT Kawasaki’s Tommy Searle makes his welcome return to racing following his practice crash during pre-season.

Update: Tommy Searle is injured again

In the Pro MX1 class, 2016 Pro MX1 Champion Graeme Irwin (Buildbase Honda) still leads the way after claiming a double race win, making that three wins in a row.

Buildbase Honda team-mate, Martin Barr, is still the only rider to have defeated Irwin and will be looking to add to his points tally and close the 16 points gap between them in the standings.

After the two opening rounds Geartec Husqvarna’s Elliott Banks-Browne sits third and will be looking to take a top two position having posted a best finish of third.

One to watch will be Gert Krestinov, after a DNF in the opening race of the year the Phoenix Tools teamster has posted three second-place finishes and will looking to claim a win.

In the Pro MX2 class, Revo Husqvarna’s Mel Pocock still heads the championships standings. A brace of second places at Lyng helped to extend his points lead over the now second placed Brad Todd.

Brad was in great form at Round 2 with two impressive wins and some fantastic racing along the way. The Putoline Planet Suspension Husky rider will be hoping to grab further points to close the gap on Pocock.

Following an impressive start at Preston Docks for the opening round, Josh Gilbert (Thorpe Off Road Centre Honda), had another good weekend at Lyng, claiming third overall and moving up to third in the standings.

These guys will need to be on their ‘A’ game with the next three riders in the standings, namely Jake Millward, Lewis Tombs and Liam Knight being covered by only three points.


Practice starts at 9am on Saturday and the first race gets underway on Saturday at 11am and on Sunday at 9.30am, continuing throughout the afternoon.

The Pro ‘Fastest 40’ races are scheduled for Sunday at 12.30 and 3.30 pm.

Spectator Facilities

  • On-site parking
  • Live commentary
  • Refreshments (hot and cold food and drink, ice cream and sweets)
  • Motorcycle trade stands
  • Bar all Weekend
  • Live Music in the Sandpit Marquee Saturday Night


Weekend tickets are priced at £15 at the gate, children under 12 are free.


The Venue of Hawkstone Park will be sign posted from both the A49 and A53, the postcode for those with Satnav is SY4 4NA.