The famous Hawkstone Park circuit is hosting the third round of the Michelin MX Nationals this weekend and Saturday’s races were treated to a well-prepped track.

As is customary on Saturday at the MX Nationals, the Experts were out first with the MX2 riders.

In the opening moto Rossi Beard took the win by just over four seconds ahead of Josh Coleman and Ryan McClean. Currently leading the class, Tom Grimshaw crashed early in the race and was down in 20th place at one stage.


He steadily picked his way through the pack and made up eight places to finish 12th.

In the second moto, Ben Putnam had a great start and lead all the way to the finish line. Josh Coleman took his second runners-up slot of the day and Jason Meara crossed the line in third.

In the Expert MX1 group, Josh Waterman posted the fastest time in qualifying and then went on to win both motos. He was followed home by Richard Bird and James Dodd in the first moto and then James Dodd and Edward Briscoe in the second.

The 85s were next out, with the small-wheel riders doing battle with the big-wheels. BW85 competitor Ryan Mawhinney was in dominant form winning both races by a sizeable margin – 15 seconds in the first and a whopping 23 seconds in the second. Alfie Jones and Ethan Lane rounded out the top three in each race.

In the SW85 group, Ollie Colmer got the better of racing-rival Bailey Johnston in moto one, taking the win with a gap of just under six seconds. Roles were reversed in race two when Johnston won the class ahead of Colmer by just under three seconds. Ben Mustoe took third in the first moto and Arai Elcock made it to the top three in the second.

MXY1/2 swiftly followed the youngsters. Aaron Lee Hanson, Callum Green and Josh Peters were top dogs in the MXY2 category moto one, with Green relegating Hanson to second in moto two and Peters maintaining consistency with another third.

In MXY1 Adam Kavos took two class and race wins – beating the 250cc riders – with Dominic Lancett and Bobby Bruce second and third in the first, while Bruce’s RFX Crescent team-mate Joel Rizzi took second in the next race and Lancett third.

Rizzi crashed in the first race and cruised the remainder of the moto to collect valuable championship points.

Expert MX2

1. Rossi Beard, 2. Josh Coleman, 3. Ryan McClean
1. Ben Putnam, 2. Josh Coleman, 3. Jason Meara

Expert MX1

1. Josh Waterman, 2. Richard Bird, 3. James Dodd
1. Josh Waterman, 2. James Dodd, 3. Edward Briscoe


1. Ryan Mawhinney, 2. Alfie Jones, 3. Ethan Lane
1. Ryan Mawhinney, 2. Alfie Jones, 3. Ethan Lane


1. Ollie Colmer, 2. Bailey Johnston, 3. Ben Mustoe
1. Bailey Johnston, 2. Ollie Colmer, 3. Arai Elcock


1. Aaron Lee Hanson, 2. Callum Green, 3. Josh Peters
1. Callum Green, Aaron Lee Hanson, 3. Josh Peters


1. Adam Kavos, 2. Dominic Lancett, 3. Bobby Bruce
1. Adam Kavos, Joel Rizzi, 3. Dominic Lancett

Clubman MX1

1. Scott Bates, 2. Joe Roberts, 3. Jamie McCarthy
1. Joe Roberts, 2. Aiden Christie, 3. Harry Fletcher

Clubman MX2

1. Brad Thornhill, 2. Fabio Rizzi, 3. Adam Pierce
1. Adam Pierce, 2. Harry Foster, 3. Fabio Rizzi

Wildman Clubman

1. Ash Cotterill, 2. Sean Wainwright, 3. Ashley Beniston
1. Sean Wainwright, 2. Kieron McAvoy, 3. Ashley Beniston

Day two of the Michelin MX Nationals British Championship at the iconic Hawkstone Park gets underway with MX1/MX2 Pro practice and qualifying from 9am Sunday, May 27.