The Russian round of the FIM Europe Championship classes EMX250 and EMX2T presented by FMF Racing has been decided! Rallying to take their respective overall wins in Russia were F&H Racing Kawasaki’s Roan van de Moosdijk and Todd Kellett.

Serving as the 4th round of both the EMX250 and EMX2T presented by FMF Racing Championship seasons Orlyonok hosted the future stars of the FIM Motocross World Championship. Warm weather and sunshine tested the physical conditioning of the riders while the challenging surface of the circuit tested their skill.


Saturday’s EMX250 Race 1 began with KTM Junior Racing’s Rene Hofer in the lead with the number 98 MJC Yamaha of Thibault Benistant just behind him. SDMCORSE-Yamaha’s Rick Elzinga was third but the F&H Racing Kawasaki of Roan van de Moosdijk came from fourth to pass both Elzinga and Benistant by lap two.


Meanwhile Team Maddii Racing Husqvarna’s Alberto Forato crashed trying to come through the pack. Honda Redmoto Assomotor’s Stephen Rubini was one rider to successfully move forward from seventh to third while Van de Moosdijk took the lead from Hofer.

Roan van de Moosdijk
Roan van de Moosdijk

Van de Moosdijk held the lead to the finish winning the race ahead of Hofer and Rubini while Benistant took fourth and the red plate holder Forato took 15th.

Today’s race was led by Rubini from the first lap with Van de Moosdijk giving chase. Elzinga had another good start in fourth behind Hutten Metal Yamaha Racing’s Raivo Dankers but both were passed by Hofer as the race progressed.

Forato again struggled in the begging and had to try and fight forward with today being much more successful as he came from ninth up to fourth after taking the spot from Dankers only a few laps before the finish.

Rubini rode to the race win and subsequently took the red plate from Forato while Van de Moosdijk held second to take the overall round of Russia victory. With Rubini second overall and Van de Moosdijk the victor Hofer took the final spot on the podium for his first time in EMX250.

EMX250 Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Roan van De Moosdijk (NED, Kawasaki), 29:17.879; 2. Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), +0:03.494; 3. Stephen Rubini (FRA, Honda), +0:05.728; 4. Thibault Benistant (FRA, Yamaha), +0:16.162; 5. Jeremy Sydow (GER, Husqvarna), +0:21.774; 6. Giuseppe Tropepe (ITA, Yamaha), +0:27.114; 7. Timur Petrashin (RUS, KTM), +0:30.496; 8. Rick Elzinga (NED, Yamaha), +0:32.730; 9. Caleb Grothues (AUS, Yamaha), +0:34.529; 10. Jimmy Clochet (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:44.269.

EMX250 Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Stephen Rubini (FRA, Honda), 29:00.093; 2. Roan van De Moosdijk (NED, Kawasaki), +0:06.190; 3. Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), +0:19.043; 4. Alberto Forato (ITA, Husqvarna), +0:26.184; 5. Raivo Dankers (NED, Yamaha), +0:28.308; 6. Rick Elzinga (NED, Yamaha), +0:30.115; 7. Giuseppe Tropepe (ITA, Yamaha), +0:32.650; 8. Jeremy Sydow (GER, Husqvarna), +0:35.971; 9. Caleb Grothues (AUS, Yamaha), +0:40.634; 10. Jimmy Clochet (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:41.657.

EMX250 Overall Top Ten: 1 Roan van De Moosdijk (NED, KAW), 47 points; 2. Stephen Rubini (FRA, HON), 45 p.; 3. Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), 42 p.; 4. Giuseppe Tropepe (ITA, YAM), 29 p.; 5. Jeremy Sydow (GER, HUS), 29 p.; 6. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 28 p.; 7. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 28 p.; 8. Alberto Forato (ITA, HUS), 25 p.; 9. Caleb Grothues (AUS, YAM), 24 p.; 10. Raivo Dankers (NED, YAM), 22 p.

EMX250 Championship Top Ten: 1. Stephen Rubini (FRA, HON), 165 points; 2. Alberto Forato (ITA, HUS), 163 p.; 3. Roan van De Moosdijk (NED, KAW), 144 p.; 4. Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), 110 p.; 5. Giuseppe Tropepe (ITA, YAM), 96 p.; 6. Jimmy Clochet (FRA, KAW), 88 p.; 7. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 88 p.; 8. Karlis Sabulis (LAT, KTM), 74 p.; 9. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, YAM), 73 p.; 10. Josh Gilbert (GBR, HON), 70 p

EMX250 Manufacturers: 1. Husqvarna, 172 points; 2. Honda, 167 p.; 3. Kawasaki, 160 p.; 4. KTM, 152 p.; 5. Yamaha, 145 p.


EMX2T presented by FMF Racing saw good jumps off the gate from Team Ecomaxx Fuels’ Mike Kras and A1M Husqvarna’s Andero Lusbo but the pair were beat out by Todd Kellett at the exit of the first turn.

After Kellett took the lead Lusbo and Verde Substance KTM’s Brad Anderson passed Kras. Kellett then refused to let his lead go and held the premier position for each of the 17 laps. Vaclav Kovar had an issue and was unable to finish the race but all eyes were on Kellett as he took the first race win of his career ahead of Lusbo, Anderson, Kras, and Pier Filippo Bertuzzo.

Today the defending EMX300 presented FMF Racing champion and #1 KTM of Anderson led every single lap while Kellett was left to try and find a way past in 2nd. Behind Kellett was again Lusbo, Kras, and Bertuzzo who Kovar managed to take fifth from.

Kellett was right on the back wheel of Anderson and couldn’t find a way by but in the end it didn’t matter because even though Anderson took the race win it was Kellett’s 1-2 scores that beat out his 3-1 for the overall.

Brad Anderson
Brad Anderson

The overall win was the first for Kellett and Anderson’s second overall gives him the championship leader’s red plate from Kras who finished fourth overall behind Lusbo. The 2 strokes of EMX2T presented by FMF Racing will now head to Latvia for their fifth round in only one week’s time where Kellett will try to hold on to his newly coloured front plate.

EMX2T Presented by FMF Racing Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Todd Kellett (GBR, Yamaha), 29:38.839; 2. Andero Lusbo (EST, Husqvarna), +0:02.119; 3. Brad Anderson (GBR, KTM), +0:12.149; 4. Mike Kras (NED, KTM), +0:56.633; 5. Pier Filippo Bertuzzo (ITA, Yamaha), +1:12.894; 6. Charlie Putnam (GBR, KTM), +1:35.898; 7. Robert Holyoake (GBR, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 8. Max Buelow (GER, KTM), -1 lap(s); 9. Iurii Lukash (RUS, Honda), -2 lap(s); 10. Francesco Galligari (ITA, Husqvarna), -2 lap(s).

EMX2T Presented by FMF Racing Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Brad Anderson (GBR, KTM), 29:28.604; 2. Todd Kellett (GBR, Yamaha), +0:01.893; 3. Andero Lusbo (EST, Husqvarna), +0:03.614; 4. Mike Kras (NED, KTM), +0:30.159; 5. Vaclav Kovar (CZE, Gas Gas), +0:50.909; 6. Pier Filippo Bertuzzo (ITA, Yamaha), +0:59.141; 7. Charlie Putnam (GBR, KTM), +1:01.921; 8. Max Buelow (GER, KTM), +1:49.141; 9. Robert Holyoake (GBR, Husqvarna), -2 lap(s); 10. Iurii Lukash (RUS, Honda), -2 lap(s).

EMX2T Presented by FMF Racing Overall Top Ten: 1. Todd Kellett (GBR, YAM), 47 points; 2. Brad Anderson (GBR, KTM), 45 p.; 3. Andero Lusbo (EST, HUS), 42 p.; 4. Mike Kras (NED, KTM), 36 p.; 5. Pier Filippo Bertuzzo (ITA, YAM), 31 p.; 6. Charlie Putnam (GBR, KTM), 29 p.; 7. Vaclav Kovar (CZE, GAS), 26 p.; 8. Max Buelow (GER, KTM), 26 p.; 9. Robert Holyoake (GBR, HUS), 26 p.; 10. Iurii Lukash (RUS, HON), 23 p.

EMX2T Presented by FMF Racing ChampionshipTop Ten: 1. Brad Anderson (GBR, KTM), 163 points; 2. Mike Kras (NED, KTM), 155 p.; 3. Todd Kellett (GBR, YAM), 142 p.; 4. Vaclav Kovar (CZE, GAS), 127 p.; 5. Andero Lusbo (EST, HUS), 124 p.; 6. Youri van t Ende (NED, KTM), 88 p.; 7. Brad Todd (GBR, YAM), 86 p.; 8. Pier Filippo Bertuzzo (ITA, YAM), 70 p.; 9. Ben Putnam (GBR, HUS), 60 p.; 10. Andrea Gorini (SMR, YAM), 59 p.

EMX2T Presented by FMF Racing Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 195 points; 2. Yamaha, 162 p.; 3. Husqvarna, 144 p.; 4. Gas Gas, 127 p.; 5. Honda, 23 p.

[more-from heading=”More Motocross” category=”motocross”]