With Shaun Simpson taking a three point victory in the MX1 class and Mel Pocock taking a tie break victory in MX2, it was a successful day for the HM Plant KTM Team at the opening round of the 2014 Maxxis ACU British Motocross Championship at Landrake.

Having to settle for third best to Jake Nicholls on his Wilvo Forkrent KTM and reigning champion Kristian Whatley (MBO Sport Yamaha) in the opening 20 minute plus two lap moto, Simpson then went on to record two back-to-back wins to take the red plate as series leader.

Nicholls recorded 1-2-3 finishes for second overall whilst Whatley stayed in touch with 2-5-2 results. Buildbase Honda Racing teamsters, Elliott Banks-Browne and Brad Anderson were separated by just two points for fourth and fifth, whilst local rider Alex Snow (Phoenix Tools Rocket Honda) completed the top six.


It looked like Matiss Karro on the quarter litre version of the Wilvo Forkrent KTM was going to leave Cornwall with a comfortable overall victory with three outright moto wins, but a fall on lap 10 in the final encounter allowed Pocock to take the top step of the podium by virtue of his better last race after scoring strong 2-2-1 scores.

Karro picked himself up to seventh in the final race which secured him second place overall whilst Steven Lenoir (Dantec Husqvarna UK) returned 3-5-2 finishes to take the lower step of the podium.

The action in the last race was so close that just seven seconds separated the top six after Karro’s mishap.

The event also incorporated the first round of the Veterans Championship where reigning Champion, Phil Mercer (IDS – Chambers KTM) recorded 1-3 finishes to take the narrowest of victories over Brian Wheeler (GL12 Racing Kawasaki) and Greg Hanson (Ready Power KTM).

The action for the MX1 and MX2 class now head to Lyng in Norfolk for the second round on April 6 where they will be joined by the MXY2 class.