Adrien Van Beveren out performed a host of two-wheeled stars to take victory in Sunday’s Famous Enduropale Touquet. The classic beach race proved to be yet again a drama filled event with the weather a major obstacle to be overcome.

Whilst the 2012 race featured snow and last year’s was troubled by high tides it was the rain that dampened the progress of the riders in 2014.

Despite the water Van Beveren was able to triumph on his Yamaha YZ450F. The Yamaha Racing France rider battled with KTM rider Antoine Meo for more than an hour over the three hours of gruelling racing and strategically timed pit stops. He finally took the lead with just 20 minutes of the race remaining. The Frenchman from Pas de Calais held the front to cross the line with a 20 second advantage for his first ever Touquet victory.


“I finally did it, what happiness!” Said 23-year-old Van Beveren. “The race didn’t start very well but I wanted to believe in it up to the end, due to the experience which I had, I knew that nothing is ever acquired and winning was still possible. I gave everything I had and was more relaxed at the end of the race.

“I have been waiting for this victory for so long… The fulfilment of my life… Today I’m a different man… This is the victory of my life. I made so many sacrifices and suffered a lot to get this.

“Today that was not hell and not the most difficult part. That was the previous month and all the work which was made. I cried today but those were tears of happiness. I decided to win this race one year ago… It’s just awesome!”

Le Touquet Final Results (Top Ten)

1. Adrien Van Beveren FRA Yamaha
2. Antoine Meo FRA KTM 
3. Steve Ramon BEL Suzuki 
4. Arnaud Degousee FRA Yamaha 
5. Jean Claude Mousse FRA Yamaha 
6. Marc de Reuver NLD Honda 
7. Milko Potisek FRA Yamaha
8. Yves Deudon FRA Kawasaki 
9. Julien Tournessi FRA KTM 
10. Tom Lahousse BEL Yamaha