The 37th Annual Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship, presented by Lucas Oil, came to a close Saturday, August 4, with the fifth and final day of racing at the Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee. The last 14 races took place as temperatures and humidity were on the rise, with a total of thirty-five National Championships presented at the end of the day.

Saturday’s racing action kicked off at 7:30 a.m. with 250 C Limited taking the track first. Tyler Uenaka would have a strong start to the day jumping out into the lead early in the moto. Uenaka would remain first until the checkered flag flew with Luke Fineis 18 seconds behind him. However, after earning 2-1-2 moto finishes Fineis would earn the National Championship.

Ty Masterpool also had a good start to the day after getting out front in the 125cc (12-17) B/C and earning the win, which also earned him the National Championship this year. Levi Kitchen and Preston Kilroy came away with second and third at this year’s AMA Amateur National Championship. The Schoolboy 1 (12-17) B/C class was also controlled by Ty Masterpool Saturday as he came away with the win going 1-3-1 for the overall.


In the 65cc (7-11) class, Haiden Deegan found himself at the front of the pack once again, and after finishing 18.3 seconds ahead of second Deegan earned the National Championship with a clean sweep going 1-1-1 this week. As the Supermini 1 (12-15) class took to the track it was Nate Thrasher grabbing the lead. Trying to close the gap behind Thrasher was Maximus Vohland, but he was unable to make the pass by the time the checkered flag flew. Thrasher went 1-1-1 to earn his second National Championship of the week.

When the 250 B Limited class hit the track, it was Carson Mumford with a favourable start. After earning the win in the first two motos, Mumford would put his head down and push for a clean sweep on the class. After 10 laps, Mumford would succeed and earn the win and National Championship. Jace Kessler finished second followed by Colton Eigenmann in third on the day. After the moto scores were tallied it was Tristan Lewis and Kayden Palmer taking the top three overall spots in 250 B Limited.

After earning the first two wins in Senior (45+) it was Terry Bostard who was looking to earn his third straight win of the week, however he would have some competition as the third moto came into play. Edward Walston would finish third and fourth in the first two motos but was ready to apply the pressure as the last moto took place. Walston would take the lead on the second lap and never look back, however behind him Bostard was having some trouble and finished the moto in fourth. Bostard would still earn enough points for the overall, followed by Walston and Dennis Bourque.

The Women’s Motocross Championship (WMX) Series took place, Saturday, August 4 in conjunction with the 37th Annual AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship. Jordan Jarvis was the one to beat, after earning the first moto win ahead of Hannah Hodges and Shelby Rolen. Jarvis dominated both motos by grabbing the lead early on in the moto and keeping her focus as she competed to earn the overall win. Hodges and Rolen would round out the overall podium followed by Jamie Astudillo and Samantha Peters in fourth and fifth.

Loretta Lynn’s Saturday Race Results: 2018 Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship

  • 250 C Limited – Luke Fineis
  • 125cc (12-17) B/C – Ty Masterpool
  • 450 B Limited – Parker Mashburn
  • College (18-24) – Joseph Tait
  • Supermini 2 (13-16) – Nate Thrasher
  • 250 C Jr. (12-17) Limited – Luke Fineis
  • 85cc (9-12) – Ryder Difrancesco
  • Schoolboy 1 (12-17) B/C – Ty Masterpool
  • 65cc (7-11) – Haiden Deegan
  • 450 C – Mikael Savard
  • Supermini 1 (12-15) – Nate Thrasher
  • 250 B Limited – Carson Mumford
  • Senior (45+) – Terry Bostard
  • Girls (11-16) – Tayler Allred
  • WMX – Jordan Jarvis