Loftus erupted as 20 riders from all over the globe entered the final race to compete for the biggest prize purse in Africa of $50,000.

The Bridgestone Holeshot prize went to Josh Hill and that would be the last anyone saw of him as he checked out and left the racing for second-place.

Cody Gilmore held on to second but had some late race pressure from South African Michael Docherty who had fought his way from seventh to third position. Former 250 Class Supercross Champion and pre-race favourite, JakeWeimer from the USA had a shocking start but fought his way back to finish in fourth.


Darryn Durham won Semi Final 1 to advance to the main and was putting in some great laps when suspension problems saw him retiring from the Main Event.

The big surprise of the night to the delight of the local fans was Michael Docherty, who battled from mid-pack through to third position and a place on the podium. He also put on a lap faster than both Weimers’ and Gilmores’ fastest laps as he claimed the second fastest lap of the Main.

It was great for South Africa to have a local on the podium but the clear winner was supercross and based on the event’s success, there will be more action in 2015.

Field Marketing Manager – Middle East, Africa and Turkey, Garan Reck commented: “Monster Energy would like to thank all the riders, manufacturers and sponsors that supported the first ever Supercross Africa event; we are looking forward to big things to come in the coming years!

“Congratulations to Josh for taking the win, Cody Gilmore for second and huge respect to Michael Docherty from SA placing third. We had 15 international athletes attending this event with incredible support from local manufactures and athletes.

“A special thank you to Yamaha, Kawasaki, Portable Shade, KTM, Husqavarna and the local athletes who supplied bikes for the internationals. The event would not be possible without you guys backing us.”

Supercross Africa Main Event Results

1. Josh Hill (USA)- Best Lap 40.943 ($20,000)
2. Cody Gilmore (USA) – Best Lap 41.977 ($10,000)
3. Michael Docherty (SA) – Best Lap 41.325 ($5,000)
4. Jake Weimer (USA) – Best Lap 41.748
5. Mickael Masquin (FRA) – Best Lap 41.804
6. Jack Brunell (UK) – Best Lap 41.635
7. Adam Chatfield (UK) – Best Lap 42.991
8. Neville Bradshaw (SA/UK) – Best Lap 42.433
9. Kerim Fitz-Gerald (SA) – Best Lap 41.932
10. Matthew Malan (SA) – Best Lap 43.091
11. Michael Kok (SA) – Best Lap 41.640
12. Jeffrey Meurs (NLD) – Best Lap 43.656
13. Shannon Terreblanche (SA) – Best Lap 44.070
14. David Goosen (SA) – Best Lap 42.782
15. Caleb Tennant (SA) – Best Lap 44.350
16. Jayden Ashwell (ZIM) – Best Lap 42.475
17. Wyatt Avis DNF (SA) – Best Lap 43.714
18. Lloyd Vercueil DNF (SA) – Best Lap 42.999
19. Darryn Durham DNF (USA) – Best Lap 42.874
20. Thomas Ramette DNF (FRA)