Only nine of the 500 Red Bull Hare Scramble riders reached the finish line within the time limit on Sunday, with Britain’s Graham Jarvis winning the Austrian Hard Enduro event for the third time.

Erzberg’s iron mine is home to the Erzbergrodeo, a festival of extreme motorsports and two-wheeler action on the Iron Mountain, with the 500 fastest racers out of the 1,500 entrants tackling the Red Bull Hare Scramble on Sunday.

With sections named Machine, Badewanne, Carl’s Dinner, Downtown, and Dynamite, the new course proved extremely demanding even for the most experienced riders due to steep ascents, huge debris fields, and slippery forest passages.


The first gravel ascent took a first toll, with several riders from the starting row rolling down the hill backwards. Five-time Erzberg winner and hot favourite Taddy Blazusiak took the lead but was soon passed by American Cody Webb, leading the top flight with Blazusiak, Alfredo Gomez and Wade Young to the first check point.

That’s where Graham Jarvis, winner in 2013 and 2015, took the lead. He reached the infamous Carl’s Dinner ahead of Webb and Gomez. Blazusiak struggled with a broken brake lever and clutch problems that saw him drop back to ninth place by Carl’s Dinner. Jarvis extended his lead delivering a serene run into the Erzbergarena and across the finish line. Gomez and Webb were locked in battle for second place. Things intensified as the Spaniard took his KTM into the key “Lazy Noon” climb with a comfortable lead, but he couldn’t clear the obstacle before Webb arrived. After several tries, it was Webb who mastered the climb to claim second place.

Organizer, Karl Katoch said: “The route was really perfect this time. Thanks to the staff, they all did a great job and made this fantastic race possible! Graham Jarvis rode in his own class. He really deserved the win!””

While the elite riders approached the key sections, dozens of riders of the last starting rows had to admit defeat to the Erzberg after the first gravel passages.

“You couldn’t predict who would win the race,” said Jarvis. “I’ve worked hard for this for years. I had a very good start, which was a big advantage, I think. Carl’s Dinner was definitely the key. I found a very good line there. Now I’m super stoked to be the winner again, I can’t describe my feelings!”

Cody Webb commented: “Especially Carl’s Dinner drove me to despair! I nearly didn’t have any energy left after that. But to fight against the best riders of the world has pushed me a lot!””

Alfredo Gomez said: “I gave everything, I’m a bit disappointed as my rear brake broke and I didn’t have anything left to drink. I really fought to survive, that’s why I’m really happy that I reached the podium.”


  1. Graham Jarvis (GBR) 02:18:47 (1.5 hours faster than in 2015)
  2. Cody Webb (USA) +00:33:07
  3. Alfredo Gomez (ESP) +00:36:02
  4. Mario Roman (ESP) +00:58:19
  5. Billy Bolt (GBR) +01:08:46
  6. Wade Young (RSA) +01:12:28
  7. Paul Bolton (GBR) +01:19:35
  8. Taddy Blazusiak (POL) +01:23:08
  9. Philipp Scholz (GER) +01:37:24