The first round of the 2019 Ecosse XC Scottish Hare & Hounds Championship, sponsored by Rock Oil, Wulfsport, Michelin and Drysdale Motorcycles, gets underway on Sunday, March 31. It will also host the first of the 10-round Northern Youth Enduro championship.

Running at Tyninghame Links, Dunbar, a venue that proved so popular for the club’s three-round motocross series earlier this year, the event will cater for both youth and adult solo riders. The five-mile-plus long track will incorporate elements of the well-harrowed motocross track, with flowing woodland and rough open land in the mix.

This will offer plenty of passing places and fast sections to give all levels of riders the chance to have a competitive and fun day out. Giving a huge boost to the Enduro youth sector, and making it more accessible to novice riders.


Ecosse XC and the team behind the Northern Youth Enduro, have secured insurance which will allow youngsters from as young as six years of age to compete at the event on Autos.  The only stipulation is that both Auto and 65cc riders must be accompanied on the track by a riding parent or grand-parent.

The 90-minute Northern Youth Enduro morning session starts at 9am, and the club can take up to 50 machines in one line-up. The class will combine Auto, 65, BW/SW85 and 125 machines and expectations are high that entries will be full prior to the closing date.

Adult riders will get a three-hour stint from 11.30am with classes for Sportsman, Clubman, Clubman B, Over 40, Over 50 and Expert. Signing on is from 7.30am. Entry fees are £35 for youth and £45 for adults.

Transponders will be utilised and can be hired for £10.  Entries are via and online entries close at 6pm on Friday, March 29. Results will be available via MyLaps. Eight rounds will count towards the championship.

2019 Northern Youth Enduro Championship dates

Round 1: March 31, Tyninghame – Ecosse XC
Round 2: April 28 – Norwood
Round 3: May 5, Grant House – Ecosse XC
Round 4: June 16, West Linton – Ecosse XC
Round 5: June 30 – Dean Moor
Round 6: July 21 – Tees Valley
Round 7: August 25 – Gisburn
Round 8: September 15 – Low North Camp
Round 9: October 13 – Hapton Burnley
Round 10: October 20 – Helmsley