KTM approach total world domination as Ryan Dungey takes the 2012 450 US title

World domination is almost complete as Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey makes AMA history to become 2012 Lucas Oil Pro 450 Motocross Champion.

A first lap crash in moto one at Unadilla put Dungey down in 11th place. But he was quickly back on it, picking off riders and eventually putting his 450 SX-F past Broc Tickle’s Kawasaki and into the lead as the two lap board came out.


Fans lined the fence for the start of moto two in anticipation of watching Dungey make history for KTM. Ryan was fourth off the start and moved into 3rd by the fourth corner. The next lap he grabbed second, wasted no time passing into first and never looked back to claim the overall title for himself and the first US championship for KTM.

It was a successful weekend for KTM Stateside as Marvin Musquin and Ken Roczen took moto wins in the 250s. Some little fellas in leather made the Moto3 (MotoGP) podium an all orange affair at the Indy Brickyard too.

“It has been an amazing year with the Red Bull KTM Team,” said Dungey. “I am so happy to clinch this championship and so grateful to every member of the Red Bull KTM Team and my family that have helped me get here today. When I joined the KTM team last October, Roger told me that we would be champion contenders and I believed him. It has come true today.”

Red Bull KTM Factory Team Manager Roger DeCoster was elated with Dungey’s victory: “The team and Ryan have worked so hard this season. We have seen him have success in Supercross and then suffer an injury only to come back stronger. This is a great moment for the team, for KTM and for Ryan. We are very proud of him and look forward to running the number one plate at the final two races.”


Results 450 Motocross Class Unadilla

1. Ryan Dungey (USA), KTM – 1-1

2. Broc Tickle (USA), Kawasaki – 2-4

3. Andrew Short (USA), Honda – 4-3

4. Davi Millsaps (USA), Yamaha – 3-5

5. Josh Grant (USA), Kawasaki – 5-6


Standings 450 Motocross Class after 10 of 12 rounds

1. Dungey, 480 points (Champion 2012)

2. Mike Alessi (USA), Suzuki, 367

3. Short, 311

4. Jacob Weimer (USA), Kawasaki, 293

5. Tickle, 293