Red Bull KTM’sRyan Dungey picked up his third consecutive Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, win of the season at Lucas Oil Stadium in front of 60,491 fans. Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin earned his third consecutive Eastern Regional 250SX Class Main Event win, extending his points lead to 16 points.

Andrew Short put his BTO across the Holeshot Award line before Dungey and Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely to start the 450SX Class Main Event. Discount Tire/TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed, who captured his first win of the season at the first race in Atlanta, crashed in Turn 2 and remounted in last place.

Dungey moved into the lead on Lap 1 as Seely took over second place. Tomac, who came into tonight in third place, crashed on Lap 1 and lost several valuable positions. On Lap 2,’s Weston Peick passed Short for third place.


Team HRC’s Trey Canard charged through the field, eventually passing Peick for third place on Lap 10. Canard held on for third place, his seventh podium finish of the season.

Seely earned a season-best second place finish and moved into fourth place in the season standings, up from seventh place.

“I thought I would have something for Ryan [Dungey] tonight, but I dropped back a bit, but I will take a second place,” said Seely.

With a 45-point lead in the season standings, Dungey has five wins on the year and is the fifth rider in history to win back-to-back races in Indianapolis. In the 23 races held in Indianapolis, the winner of the race has gone on to win the 450SX Class Championship 17 times.

“This is a week-by-week battle,” said Dungey. “I knew how important the start was, and Andrew [Short] was up front early on, so I knew I had to get around him,” said Dungey. “It was a tough track; on the last lap, I took it nice and easy.” GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle, the defending class champion, started the Eastern Regional 250SX Class Main Event with the Holeshot Award. Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Martin Davalos quickly moved around Bogle to take over the lead. Musquin followed closely in second place on the opening lap and passed Davalos on the next lap.

While riding in second place on Lap 1, Davalos crashed and dropped several positions. On Lap 2, Davalos would crash again, and at the halfway point of the race, he was running in 19th place.

On Lap 9, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy, who was running in third place, suffered mechanical failure and was forced to withdraw from the race. Savatgy came into tonight in fourth place in season standings.

Bogle held on for second place and is second overall in season standings. This year he has been on the podium at every race with two second place finishes and three third place finishes. Rookie RJ Hampshire earned the first podium of his career with a third-place finish. Hampshire advanced into fourth place from sixth place in the season standings.

“I came into the season with the goal of making every Main Event, so to be on the podium is a great accomplishment,” said Hampshire.

Musquin now has four wins on the season and eight career 250SX Class wins.

HRT Racing’s Vicki Golden, who is attempting to become the first female in history to qualify for a Monster Energy Supercross race, came within seven-hundredths of a second of qualifying for the Fast 40, which would have transferred her to the night’s racing program.

Racing action takes place next Saturday night at Detroit’s Ford Field.

450SX Class Results: Indianapolis
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda
Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda
Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha
Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
Josh Grant, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki
Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
Jake Weimer, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki
450SX Class Season Standings
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 249
Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda, 204
Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 169
Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, Calif., Honda, 160
Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki, 156
Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 152
Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna, 144
Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 141
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 124
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 120
Eastern Regional 250SX Class Results: Indianapolis
Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM
Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda
RJ Hampshire, Hudson, Fla., Honda
Jordon Smith, Belmont, N.C., Honda
Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Honda
James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda
Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda
Colt Nichols, Muskogee, Okla., Honda
Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda
Jace Owen, Mattoon, Ill., Honda
Eastern Regional 250SX Class Season Standings
Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM, 122
Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 106
Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 85
RJ Hampshire, Hudson, Fla., Honda, 74
Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki, 73
Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Husqvarna, 62
Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda, 58
James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 57
Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda, 57
Anthony Rodriguez, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 52
KTM Junior Supercross Challenge Results: Indianapolis
Preston Zollers, North Aurora, Ill., KTM
Tyler Manns, Branchland, W.V., KTM
Bowen Bell, Middleton, Idaho, KTM
Ryder Thompson, LaCrosse, In., KTM
Andrew Daniels, Chesapeake, Ohio, KTM
Carson Hope, Chardon, Ohio, KTM
Pierce Zohbon, Kathleen, Ga., KTM
William Sokol, Commodore, Penn., KTM
Tucker Haddock, Cypress Inn, Tenn., KTM
Bryce Woodrum, Morgantown, In., KTM
Ayrton Pomeroy, Shelburne, On., KTM
Brayden Toone, Evansville, In., KTM
Nick Grega, Strongsville, Ohio, KTM
Landon Stubeda, Liberty, In., KTM
Micah Jelinski, Mishawaka, In., KTM
Western Regional 250SX Class Season Standings
Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha, 136
Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., KTM, 106
Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 104
Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Husqvarna, 102
Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM, 86
Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha, 81
Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM, 79
Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki, 79
Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 75
Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda, 69