Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart and GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac proved to be the fastest of the morning at the Red Bull Budds Creek National for round five of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing.

However, 450 Class competitor Mike Alessi and Wil Hahn, of the 250 Class, stepped up for the start of racing as each rider swept the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot in both motos of their respective classes.

The Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program recognizes the 450 and 250 Class riders who lay down the quickest lap time of the day in timed practice. In the 450 Class, Stewart captured his first Oakley Bomb Award with a lap time of 1:58.0. Tomac wasn’t far off, as his fastest lap in the 250 Class came in at 1:59.0.


Each rider was awarded the one-of-a-kind Oakley Bomb trophy and now has one point towards the season tally that determines an overall winner in the Fastest Lap Program at series end.

The Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award is given each round to a racer who embodies a never-give-up mentality, despite any setbacks that may occur during the race. This time, it was N-Fab TiLube Yamaha’s Phil Nicoletti who took the honor; making 23 passes in moto one of the 450 Class. Nicoletti was as far back as 38th place on the opening lap but the New York native pushed himself to finish 15th place in the first moto. Nicoletti then went on to secure sixth place in moto two, giving him ninth overall for the day.

The Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship is brand new to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross this season, courtesy of Motorcycle-Superstore.com. Championship points are tallied over the course of 12 rounds in both the 450 and 250 Class, where each moto one holeshot winner gets one point and the moto two holeshot winner gets two points. If the same rider holeshots both motos of the day, that rider would get an additional bonus point for a total of four points, thus creating a mini-championship inside the series championship. The final payoff will be a $25,000 check for the 450 Class winner and $15,000 for the 250 Class winner.

In the 450 Class, Smartop/MotoConcepts Racing’s Mike Alessi swept both Motorcycle Superstore Holeshots, earning an additional bonus point to slate four points for the day. After round five, Alessi sits tied in second place with James Stewart, where the duo trails Justin Barcia by three points in the championship standings.

GEICO Honda’s Wil Hahn made his return from injury to the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship in a big way, sweeping both Motorcycle Superstore Holeshots in the 250 Class. After just one race back, Hahn now leads the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship with four points total.

Round six of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship takes place this weekend, June 29, with the Chaplin Kawasaki Moto-X 338 National in Southwick, Mass.