Kawasaki-backed teammates Ryan Villopoto and Blake Baggett proved to be the fastest in their respective classes at round four of the 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. Maryland’s Broc Schmelyun dug deep at the GEICO High Point National, earning the RC Hard Charger Award for the first time ever.

The Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program recognizes the 450 and 250 Class riders who lay down the quickest lap time of the day in timed practice. In the 450 Class, it was Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto who once again laid down the fastest lap time of the day. Likewise, in the 250 Class, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett proved why he is the defending 250 Class Champion as he secured the fastest lap time of the day in the 250 Class, en route to his first Oakley Bomb award of the season.

Each rider was awarded the one-of-a-kind Oakley Bomb trophy and now has one point towards the season tally that determines an overall winner in the Fastest Lap Program at series end.


The Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award is given each round to a racer who embodies a never-give-up mentality, despite any setbacks that may occur during the race. This time, it was Traders Racing’s Broc Schmelyun who made his way through the pack with a valiant charge in Moto 2 of the 450 Class. Schmelyun began the second moto back in the 30th position, where he eventually made his way up to 19th by the finish. The Maryland native went on to take 22nd overall in the 450 Class at High Point.

The Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship is brand new to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross this season, courtesy of Motorcycle-Superstore.com. Championship points are tallied over the course of 12 rounds in both the 450 and 250 Class, where each Moto 1 holeshot winner gets one point and the Moto 2 holeshot winner gets two points. If the same rider holeshots both motos of the day, that rider would get an additional bonus point for a total of four points, thus creating a mini-championship inside the series championship. The final payoff will be a $25,000 check for the 450 Class winner and $15,000 for the 250 Class winner.

In the 450 Class, Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia grabbed his fourth Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot of the season in Moto 1, inheriting the points lead in the overall holeshot championship. In Moto 2, Toyota/JGR/Yamaha’s Josh Grant grabbed his first Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot of the season, where he finished eight place in the second moto and eighth place overall at High Point.

In the 250 Class, GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne grabbed his second Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot of the season in Moto 1, giving him a total of two points for the season. Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin secured his first holeshot of the season in the 250 Class, gaining two valuable points toward the overall championship. Musquin now sits tied with Osborne, Zach Bell, Jeremy Martin and Eli Tomac for the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship standings.

Round five of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship will resume on Saturday, June 22 with the Red Bull Budds Creek National in Mechanicsville, Md.