Sagar snatches the 2011 BSEC title in Berwyn…

Exciting racing at the final two rounds of the 2011 Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship sees Tom Sagar crowned Elite champion while Wyn Hughes tops the Expert class and McCanney brothers Jamie and Danny claim top honours in the Under 19 and Under 23 classes respectively.

Bringing the 2011 Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship to a close the picturesque Berwyn Leisure Park facility in Clwyd, North Wales played host to the final two rounds of the championship where beautiful weather and a challenging but enjoyable track ensured a memorable end to the series.


With championships to be decided racing in all classes was fierce but in the Elite category Tom Sagar (KTM) was in a class of his own. Topping round nine by more than one-and-a-half minutes, Sagar put his name to the Elite championship as David Knight did in ’10. At the final round of the series Sagar was even more dominant than he had been the previous day but a fall on the first corner of the final special test reduced his eventual winning margin significantly. Nevertheless he claimed his fourth win of the series.

Behind Sagar it was Greg Evans (KTM) and Paul Edmondson (KTM) who shared the runner-up spot over the two days. Claiming a comfortable second position at round nine Evans made a mistake on the final lap on Sunday, which allowed Edmondson to sneak into the runner-up position and claim his best result of the series. Rounding out the top six at round nine were Daryl Bolter (KTM), Jamie Lewis (KTM) and Mark Roberts (Kawasaki) while at round 10 it was Bolter, Ollie Moyce (Kawasaki) and Roberts.

In the final Elite class championship standings Sagar finished an eventual 15 points ahead of Greg Evans in the runner-up position with David Knight, who missed the last four rounds through injury, still managing to hold onto third. Daryl Bolter finished fourth with Paul Edmondson fifth and Si Wakely sixth.

Coming down to the last special test of the last day of the series the battle for the Expert class title eventually went to Husqvarna’s Wyn Hughes who although tied on points with Oliver Hart (KTM) was awarded the championship having secured the better result at the opening round of the series. But Hart was the rider to beat at both rounds nine and 10 as he finished ahead of Hughes and Tyson Maytom-Jones and then Richard Ely and Hughes. Behind Hughes and Hart in the final championship standings are Maytom-Jones, Steve Hunt and Richard Ely.

Jamie McCanney’s job of winning the Under 19 championship was made somewhat easier due to the fact that his closest championship rival Ben Burrell from Australia was denied entry into the UK and missed the final two rounds of the series. Instead Jamie’s closest competition came from Husqvarna rider Jack Rowland and TM mounted Irishman Jordan Scott. Although making a slow start at round nine McCanney (KTM) was soon up to speed finishing ahead of Rowlands, Jordan Scott and Joe Jones. The win at round 10 looked to be headed to Jordan Scott but a mistake on the final special test of the series resulted in McCanney claiming the win by three seconds. Behind Scott in second were Joe Jones and Joe Deakin in third and fourth with round seven winner Nathan Watson in fifth. In the Under 19 championship standings Jamie McCanney placed one point ahead of Burrell when the two throw away scores had been taken into account, with Jordan Scott third, Steve Holcombe fourth and Joe Jones fifth.

Delivering some of the most impressive performances at the final two rounds of the ’11 BSEC series were Under 23 class riders Jonny Walker and Danny McCanney. Walker topped the class at round nine and in doing so secured his first ever win while McCanney bounced back to claim his eighth win of the series at round 10, as well as securing the overall outright win. Claiming a 30-second advantage to top round nine Jonny Walker placed his KTM ahead of McCanney’s Gas Gas with Husaberg rider Alex Rockwell third with Lewis Belfield and Ashley Wood rounding out the top six overall. The final round of the series saw Danny return to the top of the U23 results, finishing half a minute up on Rockwell with Irishman Stuart Edmonds a further 30 seconds behind. Day one winner Jonny Walker finished fourth after crashing heavily on the extreme section on lap three. In the overall Under 23 championship standings Danny McCanney finished top ahead of Alex Rockwell, Jonny Walker, Ashley Wood and Lewis Belfield.

In the Clubman class Mark Houson placed ahead of Alastair Millar at round nine with Houson again winning at round 10, finishing ahead of Paul Davis. David topped the Clubman championship ahead Daniel Alldred and Houson.

Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship 2011

Final series standings


1. Tom Sagar (KTM) 148; 2. Greg Evans (KTM) 133; 3. David Knight (KTM) 117; 4. Daryl Bolter (KTM) 115; 5. Paul Edmondson (KTM) 98; 6. Si Wakely (Husaberg) 93; 7. Mark Roberts (Kawasaki) 65; 8. Gavin Houson (Husaberg) 54; 9. Lee Edmondson (KTM) 53; 10. Jamie Lewis (KTM) 43…


1. Wyn Hughes (Husqvarna) 140; 2. Oliver Hart (KTM) 140; 3 Tyson Maytom-Jones (Husaberg) 133; 4. Steve Hunt (KTM) 99; 5. Richard Ely (Husaberg) 98; 6. James Burroughs (Husqvarna) 79; 7. Robert Lynn (TM) 56; 8. Allyn Scotland (Suzuki) 39; 9. Neil Hawker (KTM) 38; 10. David Lloyd-Jones (KTM) 37…

Under 19

1. Jamie McCanney (KTM) 149; 2. Ben Burrell (KTM) 148; 3. Jordan Scott (TM) 114; 4. Steve Holcombe (KTM) 106; 5. Joe Jones (KTM) 102; 6. Jack Rowlnd (Husqvarna) 98; 7. Joe Deakin (Husqvarna) 62; 8. Frazer Norrie (Husqvarna) 55; 9. Thomas Healey 50; 10. Joe Wootton (Kawasaki) 47…

Under 23

1. Danny McCanney (Gas Gas) 160; 2. Alex Rockwell (Husaberg) 135; 3. Jonny Walker (KTM) 119 4. Ashley Wood (KTM) 94; 5. Lewis Belfield (KTM) 84; 6. Neil Chatham (KTM) 79; 7. Brad King (Gas Gas) 62; 8. Gareth Davies (KTM) 59; 9. Stuart Edmonds (TM) 57; 10. Matt Moffat (Gas Gas) 50…


1. Paul Davies (KTM) 130; 2. Daniel Alldred (Honda) 89; 3. Mark Houson (KTM) 80; 4. Darrenn Morgan (Husqvarna) 75; 5. Alastir Millar (KTM) 75; 6. Ross Jones (KTM) 64; 7. Mike Alty (KTM) 50; 8. Peter Heyward (KTM) 40; 9. Darren Jones (KTM) 37; 10. Simon Mackune (KTM) 35…