A quick round-up of what went down in Bastogne town…

It doesn’t bode well for the Belgian GP as heavy rains force a shortened Saturday schedule that sees the results from the pre-qualifying practice dictate gate pick for Sunday’s points-paying motos. Come Sunday morning though and the sun’s out and the track’s in excellent shape for a full day of full throttle racing.



After two tortuous 35-minute plus two lap motos Tommy Searle takes the overall in MX2 courtesy of the better second moto tie-breaker rule. The Brit holeshots moto one but has series leader Jeffery Herlings fly past on the opening lap and that’s the way it stays until the end with the Dutchman taking victory. Moto two sees the pair battle it out early doors until Tommy asserts his authority and romps away for the race win and the overall. Herlings’ team-mate Jeremy van Horebeek takes third overall with a pair of third place finishes.


A solid day for Jake Nicholls sees him finish in seventh overall while EMX-250 series leader Mel Pocock takes 10th. Things ain’t so sweet for Max Anstie who hits problems and ends the day with points as does Buildbase Honda wildcard Jordan Booker.


Tony Cairoli further extends his lead in the MX1 class with a stunning double victory on the 350 KTM. Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Clement Desalle runs 3-3 to take second overall in his home GP while super-fly French guy Christophe Pourcel goes 5-2 for third.


Shaun Simpson is best of the Brits in MX1 ending the day lucky 13th on the Monster Energy Yamaha thanks to a 16-12 scorecard. Jamie Law adds another point to his collection while STR team-mate Matiss Karro runs 11-dnf.


Series standings


1       Antonio Cairoli    KTM  345

2       Clement DesalleSuzuki        298

3       Christophe Pourcel      Kawasaki   292

4       Gautier Paulin     Kawasaki   289

5       Ken De Dycker   KTM  237

6       David Philippaerts        Yamaha      212

7       Xavier Boog        Kawasaki   211

8       Kevin Strijbos      KTM  207

9       Rui Goncalves    Honda        169

10     Tanel LeokSuzuki        168


1       Jeffery Herlings  KTM  364

2       Tommy Searle    Kawasaki   340

3       Jeremy van HorebeekKTM  308

4       Joel Roelants      Kawasaki   238

5       Jordi TixierKTM  217

6       Jake Nicholls       KTM  204

7       Max AnstieHonda        191

8       Alessandro Lupino       Husqvarna152

9       Jose Butron        KTM  150

10     Dylan Ferrandis  Kawasaki 139