Matt Winstanley sets a new course record at the 51st Barbon Hill Climb and Chris Hudson’s there to catch all the action…

Dry and sunny conditions see course records topple at the 51st running of the Barbon Hill Climb. Supermoto-style bikes dominate proceedings with former British championship motocross star Matt Winstanley setting fastest time of the day on his 450 Honda to pick up the up to 500cc win with a time of 25.49. Winstanley’s former supermoto sparring partner Christian Iddon takes victory in the over 500s class on his Husaberg with a time .05 of a second faster.



It’s in the Top 15 shootout when times really start to drop though as Winstanley, Iddon and CR500-mounted Paul Jeffrey all start finding more speed up the half mile hill. The four-round shootout sees 15 riders whittled down to just three with times scrubbed for each new round. While Winstanley wins the first two rounds – setting a new record on the second run with a 25.28 – CR500-mounted Paul Jeffrey gets quicker and quicker and when Winstanley makes mistakes on the final two runs takes over as fastest man on the hill. The final run is particularly epic as Jeffrey rides a flawless sprint as Winstanley pushes too hard and outbrakes himself allowing the Devonshire rider to take the win for the day.


To see more awesome hill climbing images from Chris Hudson log on to where you’ll also find a load of sweet galleries from more traditional dirt bike events.



Class 1 up to 250cc

1          Dave Clarke       28.13

2          Ben Stafford      28.24

3          Neil Crayston     29.43


Class 2 250cc to 350cc

1          Stuart Anderson31.37

2          Mark Postlethwaite        32.12

3          Keith Riley                    33.97


Class 3 up to 500cc

1          Matt Winstanley                        25.49

2          M Mitchell-Thomas         26.44

3          Craig Venske                 26.51


Class 4 over 500cc

1          Christian Iddon   25.44

2          Paul Jeffrey       25.98

3          Peter Short        26.84


Shootout (final run)

1          Paul Jeffrey       25.43

2          Craig Venske     25.93

3          Matt Winstanley            26.17


New course record:

Matt Winstanley            25.28