Ryan Dungey takes a pair of wins at Budds Creek to further extend his AMA series lead…

Budds Creek hosted the fifth round of the 2012 AMA Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship where for the third consecutive race in a row Ryan Dungey delivers another 1-1 finish. The clean sweep at Budds Creek gives Dungey a huge lead in the series – a massive 54 points over MotoConcepts Suzuki’s Mike Alessi who ends the day third overall behind Broc Tickle.

“Today was good,” says Ryan. “I got good starts, which helped get me out front. Mike and Broc both rode well so I had to do some work in that second moto. We have a couple weeks off now so I’ll use it to my advantage and see if we can get a little bit better.”


In the 250 Class Blake Baggett secures his second victory of the season thanks to a triumphant effort in the second moto. Baggett starts the day off with a second behind Justin Barcia. However a bad start in moto two for Barcia allows Baggett to run away with the win.

Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen looks poised to challenge for his first career victory on US soil by leading the majority of each moto. However, the current MX2 world champ is passed late in both motos to end the day with a 3-2 scorecard.

“Last year I crashed in both motos here,” says former Rage cover star Baggett. “Today, I didn’t crash and came out with a win. After finishing fourth last week it feels good to be back on the podium again.”

Roczen extends his podium streak to five rounds with a career best second-place finish while Barcia fights his way to a solid result in the second moto to finish third overall. Baggett extends his lead in the championship to 13 points over Barcia.



Series standings

450 class

1       Ryan Dungey      KTM 236

2       Mike Alessi          Suzuki        182

3       Jake Weimer      Kawasaki   179

4       Andrew Short      Honda        154

5       Brett Metcalfe     Suzuki        142

6       Broc Tickle          Kawasaki   134

7       James Stewart    Suzuki        116

8       Josh GrantKawasaki   111

9       Nico Izzi     Yamaha      95

10     Justin Brayton     Honda        93

250 class

1       Blake Baggett     Kawasaki   222

2       Justin Barcia       Honda        209

3       Eli Tomac  Honda        200

4       Ken Roczen        KTM  200

5       Marvin Musquin   KTM  153

6       Wil Hahn    Honda        130

7       Jason AndersonSuzuki        106

8       Blake Wharton    Suzuki        102

9       Ivan Tedesco      Kawasaki   99

10     Kyle Cunningham         Yamaha      96