Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s James Stewart celebrated a podium finish at the 11th round of the 2013 AMA Supercross Championship at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis on Saturday night.

Stewart once again set the fastest qualifying time in practice and his impressive speed on the Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 continued in his heat race, where he got a great start and led all eight laps to his seventh heat race win of the year.

In the 20-lap Main Event, he got a great start and took over the lead within seconds. Stewart led the first seven laps and looked to have the Indianapolis Supercross under control.


Stewart then let a potential race victory slip away when he got rutted-up in a left-hand corner and the bike stalled. Stewart rejoined in fifth and worked his way up to finish third.

“I almost stalled it in that same place twice,” said Stewart afterwards. “But I just stalled it. I don’t know if I hit the brakes; I don’t know what happened. But it’s definitely a bummer because races like that, they’re fun to be in. I was on it from lap one and I felt good. I was pulling away but that happened and I just had to regroup and come back. The Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 worked great in my heat race and even better in the Main Event. That was just a stupid move, bogus; that’s what you do when you first get on a motorcycle is stall it! But we’ll regroup and come back strong for Toronto.”

The next round of the 2013 AMA Supercross Championship is on Saturday March 23 at Rogers Centre, Toronto.

2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Indianapolis Results

2013 Indianapolis 450 SX
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki) 
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 
3. James Stewart (Suzuki) 
4. Davi Millsaps (Suzuki) 
5. Justin Barcia (Honda) 
6. Chad Reed (Honda) 
7. Andrew Short (KTM) 
8. Matt Goerke (KTM) 
9. Eli Tomac (Honda) 
10. Weston Peick (Suzuki) 
2013 450 Supercross Championship Points
1. Ryan Villopoto, 227 
2. Davi Millsaps, 218 
3. Ryan Dungey, 210 
4. Chad Reed, 178 
5. Justin Barcia, 168 
6. Trey Canard, 165 
7. James Stewart, 155 
8. Andrew Short, 136 
9. Justin Brayton, 112 
10. Broc Tickle, 109