Red Bull Straight Rhythm returned for its fifth year on Saturday night, and the “unwound supercross” race proved to be as exciting as ever.

This year was a return to the past, with the older technology of two-stroke motorcycles (the only bikes raced) setting the stage for an evening awash in ‘90s nostalgia.

Once the event began, it only took a handful of trips down the half-mile track to cement Shane McElrath’s place in the event’s history as he decisively captured the top podium spot.


In his path to victory, McElrath shook off top-level racing talents like Ryan Dungey, Ryan Villopoto and Josh Grant. He has now captured a top spot on the podium three years in a row, advancing out of the “Lites” class from last year into the premier category for 2018.

Don’t miss: Red Bull Straight Rhythm 2018 – full event replay

250 Class Results

  1. Shane McElrath
  2. Ryan Dungey
  3. Ryan Villopoto

125 Class Results

  1. Carson Brown
  2. AJ Catanzaro
  3. Luke Renzland