Ever since the inaugural Monster Energy Cup in 2011, where Ryan Villopoto walked away with a cool million dollars, it’s been an eagerly awaited event on the Supercross calendar. And now those wonderfully crazy folk at the famous energy drink company just made the MEC even better with the introduction of the Monster Energy FMX High Rollers.

Monster Energy has announced the inaugural FMX High Rollers contest to take place in just under a month’s time at the UNLV Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada during the Monster Energy Cup.

And as it’s Monster Energy they’re putting their money where their mouth is with a prize purse of $100,000.


The Freestyle Motocross contest will see 30 of the world’s best FMX experts – including riders from Australia, France, Japan, Spain, Switzerland, and the US – battle it out in three competition formats: Dirt Shark Biggest Whip, Freestyle Motocross (FMX), and FMX Quarterpipe Big Air. Further upping the ante, the three-hour contest will act as the official qualifier for the Moto X Best Whip and Freestyle events at X Games Minneapolis 2017.

The Monster Energy FMX High Rollers contest will take place in the pits of UNLV Sam Boyd Stadium during Monster Energy Cup practice. It’s a full day of entertainment including a Monster Energy DJ, rider autographs, freestyle motocross and experiential elements. If you’ve got a valid Monster Energy Cup ticket you can get free access to the Pit Party from 12:00PM – 6:00PM on October 15, 2016.

Dirt Shark Biggest Whip competition kicks off the action from 1:30PM – 2:00PM, which will narrow a field of 16 riders down to three finalists going head-to-head. Top competitors include Monster Energy team riders Axell Hodges, Bryce Hudson, and Jeremy Stenberg, plus Dirt Bike Rider favourite Edgar Torronteras. Former winners Tom Parsons and Jarryd McNeil will also be throwing it down.

Starting at 2:30PM to 4:15PM, the FMX event will see 16 riders attack an obstacle course with their best tricks during two 75-second runs each. Competing for the $30,000 prize for first place – the day’s highest FMX payout – will be Monster Energy’s Blake Williams, Harry Bink, Nate Adams, and Taka Higashino, the first Japanese freestyle motocross rider to win a medal at the X Games. Jackson Strong, Adam Jones, and NIGHT of the JUMPs star David Rinaldo will also be competing in the Freestyle Motocross event.

Closing the Monster Energy FMX High Rollers event will be the FMX Quarterpipe Big Air competition that features 10 riders in pursuit of the day’s highest aerial from 4:30PM to 5:00PM. The rider who successfully boosts the highest quarterpipe air will ride away with the victory for this inaugural event.

Monster Energy Vice President of Sports Marketing, Mitch Covington, commented: “The Monster Energy Cup is a headline Monster event and adding the freestyle component of motocross with an all-star lineup will definitely elevate the overall event and fan experience this year.”

Monster Energy asked us to point out that times are subject to change so stay tuned to their social media pages to keep updated.