The second leg of the 2018 Power Maxed Arenacross Tour, played out to a packed Metro Radio Arena, witnessed plenty of high-speed race action.

Prior to the main event, a number of leading Pro riders such as Brits Adam Chatfield, Ashley Greedy and Matt Bayliss together with Aussie hotshot Dan Reardon, found themselves in the last chance eliminator.

Cedric Soubeyras earned an additional three points by cleaning up in the hot lap ahead of Fabien Izoird, and a rejuvenated Hugo ‘The Unit’ Basaula.


Greedy and Reardon were seeded through from the head-to-head, while James Dunn and Luke Norris gained the recognition of the promoter to make their first appearance in the highly-prized end-of-evening finale.

The UK’s flu outbreak claimed an AX scalp in the form of former British MX champ Elliott Banks-Browne who, despite qualifying in 10th, was unable to make the evening’s races, leaving team-mate Norris to fly a solo Geartech Husqvarna flag.

MXGP hotshot Evgeny Bobryshev escaped the claws of the eliminator and, clearly enjoying the challenges of the harder-packed Newcastle circuit, put in some solid performances to take fifth in the main event and fifth overall.

It was a tough night for the SR75 World Team Suzuki team with both riders suffering tough block incidents leaving defending champion Thomas Ramette finishing a few laps down in the main event. Both Ramette and Cyrille Coulon are reported as healthy and are ready to fight back at the next round.

The opening round winner Charles Lefrancois just missed out on the podium with a solid fourth-place finish in Newcastle and is level on points with Soubeyras in the championship after two rounds.

Pro Lites

The Pro Lites result was a repeat performance of last week’s opening round at Manchester. Joe Clayton took the final race win ahead of Jason Meara and Chris Bayliss. Clayton leads the championship on 78 points, with Bayliss on 70 and Meara 68. With five rounds still to go, there is much to play for.


In the youth ranks, 14-year-old Buster Hart had the arena on its feet when, racing on home turf, he brought the goods home for his friends, family and sponsors. The youngest racers of the Tour enjoyed a close tussle with Shaun Mahoney victorious, Jake Davies second and William Murphy third. Local rider Ryan Waggott from Carlisle had a terrific final to finish fourth; his best of the series.

Secure your tickets

If you want to ensure the best seats in the house for Birmingham you can secure them now by heading to or by calling the Box Office on 0844 844 0444, but don’t delay, we’re told they’re selling fast.

Arenacross Pro Main Event Newcastle

  1. Cedric Soubeyras
  2. Fabien Izoird
  3. Hugo Basaula
  4. Charles Lefrancois
  5. Evgeny Bobryshev
  6. Jack Brunell
  7. James Dunn
  8. Cyrille Coulon
  9. Ashley Greedy
  10. Dan Reardon

Arenacross Pro Overall Results Newcastle

  1. Cedric Soubeyras, 23 points
  2. Fabien Izoird, 20
  3. Hugo Basaula, 17
  4. Charles Lefrancois, 15
  5. Evgeny Bobryshev, 14
  6. Jack Brunell, 13
  7. James Dunn, 12
  8. Cyrille Coulon, 11
  9. Ashley Greedy, 10
  10. Dan Reardon, 9

2018 Arenacross Pro Championship

  1. Cedric Soubeyras, Team FRO Systems, 38 points
  2. Charles Lefrancois, Buildbase Honda, 38
  3. Fabien Izoird, Buildbase Honda, 34
  4. Hugo Basaula, Shocktech Kawasaki, 30
  5. Cyrille Coulon, SR75 World Suzuki, 29
  6. Jack Brunell, Team Green Holeshot Kawasaki, 25
  7. Thomas Ramette, SR75 World Suzuki, 23
  8. Ashley Greedy, Team FRO Systems, 18
  9. Dan Reardon, JK I-Fly Yamaha Racing, 18
  10. Evgeny Bobryshev, RFX Suzuki, 14

2018 Arenacross Team Championship

  1. Buildbase Honda, 72 points
  2. Team FRO Systems, 56
  3. SR75 World Suzuki, 52
  4. Team Green Holeshot Kawasaki, 35
  5. Shocktech Kawasaki, 35
  6. JK I-Fly Yamaha, 18
  7. Geartech Husqvarna, 16
  8. MVR-D St Blazey Husqvarna, 14
  9. RFX Suzuki, 14
  10. GL12 KTM, 12

Arenacross Pro Lites Overall Newcastle

  1. Joe Clayton, 38 points
  2. Chris Bayliss, 36
  3. Jason Meara, 34
  4. Harry Kimber, 29
  5. Josh Greedy, 23
  6. Ben Clayton, 23

2018 Arenacross Pro Lites Championship

  1. Joe Clayton, 78 points
  2. Chris Bayliss, 70
  3. Jason Meara, 68
  4. Scooter Webster, 50
  5. George Clarke, 46
  6. Harry Kimber, 44

Arenacross Supermini Overall Newcastle

  1. Buster Hart, 40 points
  2. Raife Broadley, 36
  3. Kai Tucker, 28
  4. Josh Jones, 28
  5. Oliver Kilgour, 27
  6. Tommy Gilbert, 27

2018 Arenacross Supermini Championship

  1. Buster Hart, 76 points
  2. Raife Broadley, 62
  3. Kai Tucker, 58
  4. Robert Storer, 53
  5. Tommy Gilbert, 53
  6. Oliver Kilgour, 49

Arenacross 65cc Overall Newcastle

  1. Shaun Mahoney, 40 points
  2. Jake Davies, 32
  3. William Murphy, 31
  4. Zane Stephens, 26
  5. Harvey Antrobus, 25
  6. Charlie Hucklebridge, 22

2018 Arenacross 65cc Championship

  1. Shaun Mahoney, 73 points
  2. Jake Davies, 64
  3. Harvey Antrobus, 63
  4. Zane Stephens, 61
  5. William Murphy, 58
  6. Kyron Carron, 48