There’s just one week to go until 72 of the UK and Europe’s leading Pro and Youth racers fire off the line at the opening round of the 2014 Arenacross tour!

The seven-round series gets under way with a two-night stand at Belfast’s awesome Odyssey Arena and if you thought last year’s field had strength in depth then wait until you see the line-up for 2014.

Our 2013 Pro top three – Adam Chatfield, Neville Bradshaw and Jack Brunell – are all back for more but this time around they’re going to be facing even tougher opposition from the UK’s leading riders along with a hand-picked selection of imported world class hotshots.


It’s a mouth-watering prospect with the three proven indoor specialists going head-to-head with ferociously-fast Frenchmen Greg Aranda, Fabien Izoird and Cyrille Coulon, Aussie SX favourite Daniel McCoy, Italian former Euro champ Angelo Pellegrini and American Tyler Villopoto.

Then there’s a shedload of British aces – many of them unproven indoors – to factor into the mix. Riders of the calibre of Kristian Whatley and Elliott Banks-Browne who dominated outdoors in 2013 are clearly class acts but will their Motocross skills translate into Arenacross speed on the tight, technical tracks? And what about Scottish hero Bryan MacKenzie or Jason Dougan – both are flat-out fast outdoors but can they cut it inside?

While we’re at it let’s not forget Steven Clarke. Out of all the entire Pro field the 23-year-old has perhaps the best indoor pedigree having finished fifth in an AMA SX Main Event. The man from the Midlands crashed out of the 2013 series in his very first practice session at the opening round but he’s been on fire through the autumn and could very well blaze his way to the front at the Odyssey.

The Pros will be backed up by four classes of rising Youth stars and the Freestyle Motocross athletes will be headed up by Spanish legend Edgar Torronteras. Edgar’s a showman to the core and after missing Belfast last year will be going all-out to amaze the Irish fans!

The seven-round 2014 Arenacross series kicks off with a double-header at the Odyssey Arena, Belfast, on January 17/18 before travelling to the LG Arena, Birmingham (January 25), the Echo Arena, Liverpool (February 2), the Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle (February 9) and the Motorpoint Arena, Sheffield (February 15). The series signs off at London’s Wembley Arena on March 1.

To buy tickets and catch up on the latest news go to